My House Spider Got a Yummy Lunch…Or Maybe Not

Thank god, I was there to click before the ravaging happened

Bhavnaa Narula
Thank You Notes

--

A spider holding on to a moth (Picture by author)

I was just strolling around the balcony area when I came across the above picture. I had to put my life at risk and zoom in to get a nice shot.

I couldn’t believe my eyes that a spider so small had caught hold of a moth that was almost double its own size.

But that didn’t deter the house spider at all.

I have been watching that spider chasing the moths all day and it finally caught hold of one…yay…someone will have a jumbo-sized lunch today.

It is scenes like these that take me to the circle of life and death.

The numerous animal hunting documentary I had seen as a child on National Geographic and Animal Planet. It seems they all come alive on my window pane.

P.S. Just while I was writing about the spider’s heroic kill, it dropped the moth off its mouth, or maybe it just got tired of holding it for around two hours.

And now I cannot see the spider anywhere and I have a dead body in my house.

I hope they don’t have their MBI (Moth’s Bureau of Investigation) or else I will be one of the suspects as well.

Bhavna Narula, 2021. All rights reserved. Thank you so much for reading. :)

To subscribe to my emails kindly visit this link.

--

--

Bhavnaa Narula
Thank You Notes

I am a dancer who writes what her heart dictates. My Insta ID- theaquarianparadise/ thedancingparadise28