When a Dream Becomes Reality

The Best Thing I’ve Done for My Dream is to Never Give Up

Learn From My Mistakes and Take it Off the Dream Shelf

Nancy Blackman
Thank You Notes
Published in
6 min readSep 29, 2021

--

Photo Credit: Nancy Blackman

I have been writing since I was a kid, but I didn’t know that I wanted to be a full-time writer until recently. Ok. That’s a lie. I knew I wanted to be a writer when I was 10, but I kept denying myself of the calling placed upon me.

What I didn’t realize is my soul wanted to write because it didn’t know what else to do. That’s when a dream becomes reality because the best thing I’ve done for my dream is to never give up. It becomes the very thing I must do to be myself. So, I’m a late bloomer. I share this so that anyone reading will learn from my mistakes, especially if you are in your 20s or 30s.

As a young adult, I knew I didn’t want to work in an office full time, but life presented a path that did not immediately lead me to a career in writing. My heart wanted to major in Journalism. My head said no. You must make money. So, I headed into Marketing. When I flunked out of university, I began to drop into writing classes at the local community college.

At night I would write short stories, dreaming up characters and plots, but it was always a side hustle. It always remained on the dream shelf — this idea that I would call myself a writer and write for a living. Pfft. That was for people who believed they could do this.

Then one day, I signed up for a Creative Nonfiction class through UCLA Extension. As I explored different genres of writing — memoir, travel, and essays, it felt good and right. The words were rolling out of me, and I couldn’t stop. One evening as I read my short piece out loud in class, my professor turned to me, “Are you trained?”

“You mean, do I have an MFA?”

“Yes.”

“No,” I said almost sheepishly.

“So, you are intuitive.”

I felt called out, wondering how the rest of the class would treat me going forward. Yes, that was my trauma response of having been raised by a narcissistic parent (but that’s for a later essay). As I processed her statement, I realized she was paying me the best compliment ever. I reflected on it…

--

--

Nancy Blackman
Thank You Notes

8X Top Writer. Editor. Writing Coach. Owner of Refresh the Soul publication. Read more of my writing: “Mixed Korean: Our Stories.” https://www.325kamra.org/buy.