The Pleasures of Cherished Belongings and Memories

The simple things bring much comfort

Kris Bedenian
Thank You Notes

--

Photo taken by the author of a family wooden candy jar filled with lemon drops.
Photo of candy jar by author

I always saw candy as art.”

– Dylan Lauren

While I was growing up, candy was my favorite thing in the whole wide world. Times were much simpler.

As a kid, I also enjoyed scavenger hunts, which are the physical searching for trinkets. For example, my Aunt Velma planned an Easter egg treasure hunt for my sisters and me for one year.

I thought this was the coolest thing; the treasures were candy and trinkets. You should have seen the end prize; it was a beautiful chocolate Easter egg.

Thinking about this childhood scavenger hunt is a gift in itself, along with these other childhood memories.

My Grandpa’s coin jar

When we were kids, we would ride our bikes all around town. My grandpa’s coin jar always seemed to be filled to the top with coins.

“Grandfathers are just antique little boys.”

– Unknown author

We were always welcome to help ourselves to some change. So, several times a week, we would grab some money and head to the Nickle & Dime store.

--

--

Kris Bedenian
Thank You Notes

I’m a writer who has journaled for 26 years. My battle with breast cancer has given me a new perspective on life. Writing is a way for me to give back.