Working remote and loving it

jonathan bowden
Thankful for…
Published in
1 min readAug 11, 2014

I took off last week for a staycation with my ever growing family, and today’s my first day back at the job.

And it’s awesome. I know it sounds cliche, but I love it.

I work with a great team and boss (http://strategyplusdesign.com/ ), producing solid work for awesome clients, and I get to do it all from my home office, perched on the second story over looking the Texas hill country. I mean, I don’t have the setup that Trent Walton does , but seriously, who does!

Life is good, and working remotely is a huge part of it.

I’m 4 months into it, and learning new techniques everyday. With three kids under the age of 5, it’s not easy at times, but it’s worth it every day.

Today I had breakfast and lunch with the crew, played frisbee with my oldest at lunch, and I’ve been smelling the Turkey my bride has been roasting for hours. Yum!

This will be the first post of many about working remotely, as I would love to hear tips and tricks from you as well! Do you work remotely, full time or maybe just a few days a week? What has been the biggest hurdle? Any tips, ie noise canceling headphones, ha ha!

With the technology available to us, I just can’t imagine why the majority of driven, self disciplined professionals don’t skip the commute more often.

--

--

jonathan bowden
Thankful for…

Son / husband / father / designer / inquisitor / neighbor / explorer