April 8th, 2020

Mayuko Fujino
Thank You Have A Nice Day
2 min readSep 6, 2022
Kensington, NY

Went outside briefly to take out trash and pick up litter on my block.
A thunderous voice suddenly said, “THANK YOU!”
I looked around and saw a deli staff waving at me, and again, “Thank you! Would you like a coffee? Would you like some water?” That was very kind of him (& HE is the one who deserves to be thanked, as an essential worker.)

Another nice thing was that the amount of litter was smaller than last week. Maybe because finally there are less people outside? Or is the public service announcement from the city about mask/gloves littering actually working? Even though I could still pick up something like at least 15 gloves within one block, that was progress.

That plastic bag (pic on the left) is very common, used to deliver supermarket flyers and stuff. I like that it has nice colors, and tends to be dry/clean. However I’d think it can stop already. Who would pick up and use them, when people are scared of receiving even their own mails?

--

--

Mayuko Fujino
Thank You Have A Nice Day

I make stencil paintings of birds and nature in the Hudson Valley, New York. www.mayukofujino.com