Beat the Bots: The Time is NOW

Rob Hassler
That Good You Need
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2017

I don’t have much time, the bots are watching. It’s April 21, 2017, and I’m currently writing this from an undisclosed location underground in the hopes that you’ll listen, and help me.

They’ll tell you it’s the way of the future, they’ll say it’s inevitable. THIS is what they want you to imagine what they look like:

I’m here to tell you the truth. I’ve attempted to get concert tickets only to be notified that within seconds of tickets going on sale, they’re sold out. I’ve attempted to purchase sneakers online only to be told if I really want to compete, I need to utilize the bots. Utilize the bots? Utilize the bots.

We’ve been warned of this time and time again — it’s everywhere; in the news, our conversations, our imagination. BUT, technology has its problems. Maybe the bots are just the beginning, maybe they are the least of our worries.

Just ask Yuval Noah Harari, author of the critically-acclaimed New York Times bestseller and international phenomenon Sapiens, how he views the future of technology and AI in his newest book Homo Deus.

Look, I’m not here to tell you that technology is moving faster than human’s can possibly imagine. Our reality will soon be a world with self-driving cars, AI that can do your job more efficiently than you ever could, and the real life scenario of I, Robot.

What I am here to do…is warn you. Not long ago I embarked on a campaign to #beatthebots via Twitter. I shared some of the same sentiments I have shared above, but now, it may be too late. Just today something happened. After some time promoting the #beatthebots campaign, my text messages randomly erased. Had my TV been watching me? Did someone rat me out to the bots? I don’t know.

I didn’t even have time to spell ‘text messages’ right, that’s how quickly the bots were coming.

What I do know, is that without your help, we may soon succumb to the bots once and for all. We must stand up, we must fight, we must….I think someone is here — signing off for now.

Rob

#beatthebots

--

--

Rob Hassler
That Good You Need

Marketing Director @DaroffDesign. Philadelphian. Cat Dad.