The Under 30: Melissa Stites

The Under 30 is a series that explores the lives of the young people around us. Learn more about why we’re doing it here.

Lucas Quagliata
That Good You Need
3 min readJan 13, 2017

--

Melissa Stites // 26 // Philadelphia, Pennsylvania // Graphic Designer

Over the past few years, I’ve become enthralled with WWE. This is not entirely unusual, professional wrestling is experiencing a bit of a renaissance and is more popular these days than many realize, but it is still a bit of a joy to find others who appreciate the medium.

Occasionally, since the WWE and the affiliates who make its products utilize a wide-range of creative agencies for its products, I’ve had the opportunity to interact with designers that have worked on them. While I truly attempt to hold myself back from geeking out about something like that, I don’t have a lot of self-control.

One of these friends was Melissa. Well…technically she was working on something for a different company, but the products are somewhat related. One is pre-determined while the other is more vicious. Some prefer to use the words “real” and “fake” but that is almost certainly absurd. There’s nothing fake about this happening to you.

Pre-determined, still hurts

When discussing this with Melissa, a particularly engaged social media user with the graphic design skills that kills, she expressed her disdain for the project she was working on. Simultaneously, she expressed a longing love for a strong, chiseled WWE Superstar: Roman Reigns.

Hey girl

With a quick wit and a strong determination to use her powers for good, she created one of my favorite pictures ever. Shout out to her.

Straight From the Source

What’s your Favorite Hobby?

Trolling on twitter, playing sports & yelling at my TV about sports.

What’re you most proud of?

I’m proud of who I’ve become so far in life and also that I can eat 7 tacos at Loco Pez with ease.

Where do you hang out?

I hang out on my couch a lot or in center city with my friends at local “pubs.”

What would your ideal job/career be?

My ideal career would be to work on the travel channel so I could visit cool places for a living.

Live look at happiness

What’s the best advice you would give?

My best advice would be to be honest, even if that means coming off a little bit blunt and also to always have fun and stop fucking taking life so seriously, gosh dammit.

What do you wish you did more of?

I wish I ate more pizza, like once a day maybe. And maybe charity work and helping others.

I just love my couch a lot.

Why didn’t you make Forbes 30 Under 30?

Probably not good looking enough. Also, I change my address too much, the invite must’ve gotten lost in the mail.

You can keep up with Melissa here.

--

--

Lucas Quagliata
That Good You Need

Marketing Strategist | Philadelphian | Routinely Disappointed Buffalo Bills Fan