5 Steps To Better Golf — That’s Dad Stuff — The Sports Dad

Brian Shay
That’s Dad Stuff
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2020

5 Steps To Better Golf: What steps do you need to take in order to play better golf? Maybe you need to step back and think about what steps needed for better golf. Practice makes perfect, especially for golf. The more you play, the better you get. Are you a driving range hero? Love showing off how far you can hit the ball? How about on the course? Still hitting it long? 300 yards, straight like on the range, or 300 yards hook into the trees? Do you go to the driving range, get a large bucket and just crush your driver, over and over again?

Thatsdadstuff.com @thatsdadstuff

At my driving range, a small bucket has 34 balls, medium 68, and a large has 102. I usually go with a medium bucket. I would take half of the bucket and crush my driver. Then switch to a 7 iron, hit a few, then switch again to a wedge and before you know it I was out of golf balls. I was going about it all wrong.

I’ve been golfing for over 25 years, and about 5 years ago I change my driving range routine. The following steps were a big change for my driving range routine but changed my overall golf game… for the better.

What are the 5 Steps To Better Golf?

Have a limit.

How many times do you actually use your driver on a course? Why hit your driver 30–40 times on the range when you are only going to use it 10–15 times on the course? Cut back on the range and hit your driver 15–20 times.

Take Aim!

Use your 7 iron, aim for something in the range. I hit my 7 iron 155–160yards. I find the 150-yard sign/marker and I try to hit that sign. But mix it up. Aim for dead center 150 yards out, then aim to the left 150 yards and then again to the right 150 yards. Do this for a total of 10 times. Then switch to your 100-yard club and repeat.

Visualize.

Visualize your favorite golf course. Dogleg left? Choose your club wisely. Creek running through the hole about 240 out? Laying up? What club are you choosing? Visualizing your favorite course/holes and will help you in real situations. However, don’t get away from using the driver only 15–20 times.

Breathe, relax and slow down.

In reality, the course. You are not swinging one after another after another for 60–100 swings. You are either walking or riding in a cart right? On the range, take a practice swing, hit one, admire it or cuss at it. Take a breath, what went right, what went wrong, try and fix it on the next one.

Most importantly — Have fun!

It’s OK to have a distraction. This one may rub people the wrong way. Some people are pretty serious on the range. I completely understand and respect that. My golf game improved when I started having fun on the range. I occasionally meet a friend at the range, bring the kid(s) (teach them the game!), or listen to music. Have fun! It’s just a game.

The 5 steps to better golf are pretty simple. It’s not rocket science. This worked for me! Try it. Drop me a line and let me know if you liked this post. Hit me up on Facebook or on Twitter. Let me know how these steps worked for you, or better yet, tell me about your driving range routine!

Originally published at https://thatsdadstuff.com on February 2, 2020.

--

--

Brian Shay
That’s Dad Stuff

That’s Dad Stuff I’m a Dad of two daughters, and I’m lucky to be married to my bride for 15 years.