I am the Brit who says: “I’ve never seen Monty Python and the Holy Grail

Why time served isn’t necessarily experience gained

Tom Rippon
“That’s not a movie blog!”
2 min readDec 7, 2022

--

Credit: Python (Monty) Pictures

I studied for three years in Bath without once visiting the Roman Baths. Similarly, I’ve lived in Paris for over a year and still not ascended the Eiffel Tower. You wouldn’t expect it. I mean, these attractions were and are right there as I head to campus or buy my groceries.

Then again, I am British, lived in Britain for the first 30 years of my life and, until earlier this week, had never seen Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

There’s no explaining how. My interests ground me squarely in a space shared by fans of the film — literature (including fantasy and science fiction), popular cinema, comedy. Terry Gilliam’s art and the rest of the Pythons’ wit are right there as I browse social media or listen to a podcast. Not to mention the fact that I’m British and live in a foreign land. I should be able to answer all your questions about the royal family, the art of queuing, and Monty Python. And there are lots of them.

It’s for this exact reason we know better than to buy Nokia phones or respect our elders. Time served isn’t necessarily experience gained. It takes constant curiosity to get under the skin of, well, anything really. Even among people who have seen Monty Python and the Holy Grail, many are still discovering new jokes with every rewatch. And, unfortunately, most of us just don’t have enough time.

So, will I watch Monty Python and the Holy Grail again, seeking those jokes that were lost to me the first time? Do I want to be “one of those guys” who digresses into nonsensical quotes at the very mention of shrubbery? And how exactly do I feel about the monarchy? I suppose only time will tell.

Unless, of course, I forget all about these questions and do something else. Look at that, I’m late for class.

--

--

Tom Rippon
“That’s not a movie blog!”

I write about books, movies, stories – you know, the same stuff you like.