I Ate 100 KFC Chicken Wings in a Month… for Two Months

Daniel Tay
That’s… Weird
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2014

I’ve been doing this for a couple of months now, which means I’ve eaten about 200 KFC chicken wings so far.

Here are some observations:

  1. Eating 100 fried chicken wings a month (or about 25 per week) does not make me put on a single kilogram. It also doesn’t make me fat. (I have a low-starch lifestyle — you can read about here.)
  2. Weight is not the only health indicator. I’ll update the results of this experiment after I go for my regular blood test (due in March). I’ve been waiting to find out the effects of a high-fat diet.
  3. There’s a wash basin in every KFC outlet because, y’know, it’s finger lickin’ good.
  4. Every KFC outlet (at least in Singapore) uses the same green liquid soap that doesn’t work very well. I’ve also observed that soap isn’t really needed to wash off the oil… which is kind of suspicious in itself.
  5. The standard of KFC chicken wings and cleanliness of each outlet’s premises is surprisingly good! I’m especially aware of this because of the countless feedback forms I’ve filled in. I’ll elaborate.

Each original chicken wing costs $1. Every time I make a purchase, I ask for the receipt. On the receipt is an offer of a free one piece chicken wing if you fill in the online feedback form and write down the validation code at the end of the two-minute process.

You can use one receipt per purchase. Used rightly, you end up with two chicken wings for the price of $1. With three receipts, you can get up to six chicken wings for that price (which is more than enough for a meal). You also get three more receipts which you can repeat the process.

A sample receipt. Note the free chicken wing offer at the bottom.

6. Six chicken wings make a very full meal, for only $3. The savings really add up where a decent meal and drink here usually costs around $6–8. I don’t know how long this campaign will run, but I’m milking it for what it’s worth.

7. The KFC feedback form is dynamic. It changes based on the responses you give. I haven’t tried giving a fake number yet. It just doesn’t feel right.

8. KFC servers don’t like to use their real names on their name tags. They prefer nicknames like Sweetie or Zero, which probably makes it harder for people to complain against.

9. Each outlet has a limited supply of original chicken wings. You can order as many as they have, but sometimes they run out. Not all the chicken wings are displayed, and some are still being cooked. Therefore fresh-from-the-oven chicken wings are VERY hot.

10. Not all KFC outlets are run in the same way. Some outlets will offer to give you crispy chicken wings in place of original. Some places refuse, so sometimes I end up with just two chicken wings for lunch.

“You’re one of a kind,” said my wife when I told her all this.

If you like what you just read, please hit the ‘Recommend’ button below so that others may chance across this story.

--

--

Daniel Tay
That’s… Weird

Author. Connector of People. Power User of Productivity. Builder of Systems. Merchant of Time. Practitioner of Gratitude. Husband of One. Lover of God.