Hello.

Brian Lawler
That’s What I’m Talking About
1 min readJul 15, 2016

So here we are, on the new new platform for self expression on the internet. I am a self and have much to express, so clearly I should be here too! Of course, you may not be interested in what I have to say since it will all be nerdy, extremely esoteric stuff about writing and running computer software. Apologies in advance for that, but writing software is the thing that I have spent more time thinking about (and messing up) over the last 20 years than anything else. Hopefully you learn from my mistakes.

And if you suffered through my previous blogs over on tumblr, then welcome to the new new! On tumblr I had 2 different blogs:

  • Re-tooling” which was about my effort to re-educate myself after 8 years of working on the same software stack and
  • Mongo-Casbah Cookbook” which was a blog that contained lots of recipes for how to get things done in MongoDB using the official Scala library for Mongo, called Casbah.

The projects that I was developing while learning Mongo, Scala, and the new tool chain that I now spend my daily life in have both been in production for a couple of years now, and I have continued learning through that time but have been remiss in writing all the insights I have gained along the way.

That’s what I’ll be talking about here…

--

--