5 Questions with Anna Cotter

Senior Security Engineer

Women of Silicon Valley
The 12(++) Women of Crypto
3 min readDec 17, 2019

--

1. What do cybersecurity and crypto mean to you?

It always amazes me to see people’s reactions when I tell them I work in cybersecurity. Especially among my high school friends, I am known in my community for my cooking and baking. Since I didn’t go to college right after high school, many think I was a stay-at-home mom. Instead, I pushed myself to go to college while working full-time. There were times when I would wake up at four in the morning just so that I could study while my children slept. It took me 22 years, but I ended up with a masters degree in Internet Security.

Ironically, I started my computer career in high school. My senior year was the first year that the high school had a PC. Since they didn’t have a lab or secure space for it, I would wheel it down and connect the monitor, printer, and keyboard everyday, then pack it back up in the evening. I was in charge of plugging everything in and booting it up. I knew just a bit more than my classmates about computers, so I became the expert.

2. If you could wave a magic wand and solve one problem in tech, what would it be?

Attacks on computer systems. As a cybersecurity professional, I have to find 500+ ways to keep the bad guys out. The bad guys only have to find one way to come in. It’s a constant battle that costs companies billions of dollars.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

You are only given so much time and money to complete projects. I constantly have to tell myself, “Do the best you can in the time you’re given.”

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

I have faced forms of sexism in the workplace. Because I work with literally all men, they will frequently look at me and expect me to set up meetings, take notes, and file some of the materials for the department, even though there are 12 other people that could be doing these tasks. In fact, I was just asked again today to set up a meeting. Most of the time I don’t make a fuss, but every couple of months I bring up a presentation about gender bias to inform them of what they are doing. We call it the B presentation. At the end, everyone one has to pick a B word that is positive. My B word is blazing. I feel throughout my career I had to blaze my own path.

5. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

I am very religious. I find my greatest source of inspiration from the Bible and those who demonstrate Christ-like acts daily.

Anna is a Women in CyberSecurity (WiCyS) member.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
The 12(++) Women of Crypto

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.