6 Questions with Malia Mason

CEO and Co-Founder of Integrum

Women of Silicon Valley
The 12(++) Women of Crypto
3 min readDec 17, 2019

--

Malia (she/her) is an experienced cybersecurity engineer and the recent co-founder and CEO of Integrum, a cybersecurity consulting firm focusing on security compliance for small businesses and non-profit organizations. She is also the current president and co-founder of the Women in Cybersecurity (WiCyS) SoCal Affiliate, as well as Chair of the Technology Committee for AnitaB.org.

Malia served on active duty in the Navy for 4 years, where she was a lead computer technician. She is an active member of ISSA, ISACA, OWASP, IAPP, AnitaB.org, Women in Cybersecurity, and Women’s Society of Cyberjutsu. A champion for women and minorities in technology, she serves on the advisory board for Long Beach City College and mentors students in various community colleges around Los Angeles. She has mentored girls in middle school and high school at several cybersecurity camps and events.

1. What do cybersecurity and crypto mean to you?

I have always wanted to help protect people in some way. While serving in the Navy, our secret systems and information were entrusted to me. I took that job very seriously, as I saw how the release of that information could potentially harm a lot of people, military personnel and civilians alike.

In the civilian sector, I have been a staunch advocate of privacy rights; cybersecurity education; and blue-teamers, who work to defend our systems and information from attackers. I have developed talks and workshops to bring cybersecurity understanding to people in desperate need, like victims of domestic violence, immigrants, ESL , elderly, etc. Everyone needs to understand and care about cybersecurity!

2. If you could wave a magic wand and solve one problem in tech, what would it be?

Barrier to access and entry.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

When you get your foot in the door, hold it open so more people like you can come in behind you.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

I have frequently been the first and only woman in my workplace. I joined women’s organizations outside of work and have become a leader in several groups. I work to bridge the gap between men and women in the workplace and always offer myself as a safe person to talk to for everyone. When I am slighted, ignored, or mistaken for the secretary, it is in my service of others that I gain my confidence and inspiration to power through those challenges. I am always trying to leave the world better than I found it. If I make it so the next woman has a better environment than I had, I consider myself successful.

“If I make it so the next woman has a better environment than I had, I consider myself successful.”

5. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

I like to channel my fierce Granny. She encouraged me from a young age to get involved with politics and to stand up and say something if I felt it wasn’t right. She never let me forget that she was born during a time when women did not have the right to vote, so I had better get involved to make sure we’re always pushing the bar forward!

6. What is your favorite book or movie?

Pride and Prejudice.

Malia is a Women in CyberSecurity (WiCyS) member.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
The 12(++) Women of Crypto

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.