6 Questions with Marcae Bryant-Omosor

Software Developer

Women of Silicon Valley
The 12(++) Women of Crypto
2 min readDec 17, 2019

--

Mrs. Marcae Dimeitria Bryant-Omosor is a Software Developer. She is active on a few community boards, where she is instrumental in promotion of volunteerism and community STEM efforts.

Mrs. Bryant-Omosor is a graduate of University of Arkansas Little Rock, where she obtained her Bachelor of Science in Computer Science. She recently graduated from Saint Leo University, where she completed her Master of Science in Cybersecurity.

With 20 years of experience in Information Technology (I.T.) Operations industry, Mrs. Bryant-Omosor has turned her attention towards software development to increase her knowledge base and fine tune her information security (I.S.) skillset. She also wants to utilize her military intelligence expertise, obtained over 10 years in the United States Airforce.

1. What do cybersecurity and crypto mean to you?

“Crypto” refers to digital currency or blockchain, which is the future of money. It’s great to have cryptocurrency that can enhance the dated paper currency system; however, it also exposes new concerns about security and protection of consumers’ digital assets. Hackers are ready to exploit the crypto network and disrupt cybersecurity infrastructure on a global scale. Measures need to be taken to develop legal regulations and compliance measures, in addition to globally hardening the digital footprint.

2. If you could wave a magic wand and solve one problem in tech, what would it be?

Close the skills gap for underrepresented populations in the IT and cybersecurity realm.

3. What is a piece of advice that you have found especially useful?

Once you make a goal, take the time to chart out a path to reach it. Only then can you achieve it and continue to adjust your path as necessary.

4. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you deal with it?

My biggest challenge was becoming a mother, because I wanted to be the best role model for my children. In becoming my idea of the best mother, I have made many career pivots that made me feel disconnected and unfulfilled. However, I now understand that there is time to reach my goals and aspirations.

5. What is your favorite source of inspiration?

Most definitely my family. My husband is my best friend and confidant. He encourages me to pursue my goals and elevate myself. Of course, my children are my inspiration too, as I aspire to be someone they admire.

6. What is your favorite book or movie?

The Giver by Lois Lowry.

Marcae is a Women in CyberSecurity (WiCyS) member.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
The 12(++) Women of Crypto

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.