Arielle Austin & Arielle Austin Studio

Painting through the pressure

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers
4 min readJan 5, 2017

--

When I first moved to Austin, Texas, I remember frantically searching for people who looked like me around town. ATX was a big adjustment from Washington, DC, and even my hometown of Raleigh, NC. It was easy to find the party crowd on 6th Street, but I wasn’t necessarily searching for that all of the time.

I soon took to everyone’s favorite website (Facebook!) to see who was who around town. I quickly found Arielle Austin Studio as her beautiful artwork, especially the Floral Mixed Media, stood out to me since it was art I hadn’t seen before.

Since then I’ve seen her collabs with Boss Babes ATX and the recent East Austin Studio Tour. At that point I knew I had to reach out and learn more about this amazing artist representing the 512.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

First & Last Name

Arielle Austin

Why did you decide to open your own studio?

Although I took a lot of fine art classes throughout college it wasn’t until the season after graduating, a season of depression and feeling completely lost, that I had an inkling that creating and making art was something I could do for a long time. Painting was, and still is, my form of therapy, worship, prayer, and my privilege to meet with God and work through the thoughts in my head and heart.

What does your studio mean to you?

Everyday I get to show myself that I’m a lot braver than I think I am. It means that every time I get to approach a blank canvas I’m trusting God with that much more of me and the work of my hands. It means that the small and big choices that I continue to make by walking in my calling as an artist isn’t just affecting my life but those around me.

What have you had to overcome in order to achieve success?

Growing as an artist as well as an entrepreneur has not always been rainbows and butterflies. There’s rejection and financial uncertainty, doubt and risk. For me, the biggest hurdle I’ve had to overcome is the false belief that I’ve not been given the grace to achieve success in the first place. It’s daily trusting the highs and lows of the process that become markers for success.

What does it mean to be a black business owner?

To be an artist, a woman of color, and a business woman has been both incredibly empowering and humbling. It’s been amazing to be able to connect with and encourage others who are doing the same. Though it comes with its fair share of pressure, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

What advice do you have for people who are ready to follow their dreams but are hesitating?

One of my favorite quotes is by Katherine Center: “You have to be brave with your life so that others can be brave with theirs.” You never know who needs you to start and follow through with the calling that’s been placed on your heart. By doing so you’re inspiring them to do the same. Start with what you have, wherever you are. You don’t have it all together, or have everything figured out. Trust and be patient with yourself and the fact that no one worth looking up to got to where they are overnight.

“You have to be brave with your life so that others can be brave with theirs.”

Anything else you want to add?

I’ve been dreaming up ideas for my first solo show in Austin, so if you know of any awesome spaces to fill with beauty you know where to find me!

Want to contact Arielle for more information?

Visit www.arielle-austin.com to see her beautiful work! Also follow her on Instagram via @arielle_austin and Like her Facebook Page via @arielleaustinart.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

Do you know a Black Creator or Tastemaker? Of course you do! Let me know in the comments so I can feature him or her this year!

If you like this post please tap the 💚 below so other people have a higher chance of finding and reading it!

--

--

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers

TheContentPlug.com // Social media obsessed Millennial looking to record thoughts in more than 280 characters. #LexInTech #LexInTex