Darryl Bellamy & Bellamy Inspires

Making student success a priority

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers
5 min readApr 10, 2017

--

If there’s one thing I learned during the last 10 or so years of my life, it’s that this world is full of opportunity and it’s up to you to take advantage of the resources you’re given.

If you consider yourself a successful person, you more than likely surround yourself with others who are equally or more successful at what they’re doing. This could easily lead you to thinking that you’re not as qualified as them or cause you to doubt if what you’re doing is truly meaningful

For many students entering and leaving the college environment, there is a cloud of doubt and precaution that tends to follow them around instead of a feeling of action and drive. Darryl recognized this fear and decided it was time to make sure that future waves of students had the resources and encouragement to keep pushing forward and to follow their dreams no matter how out of reach they may seem.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

First & Last Name

Darryl Bellamy

Why did you decide to start Bellamy Inspires?

I always had an interest in helping students be successful. While in undergrad I was heavily involved on campus as I often presented leadership workshops. Two years ago, I liked my full-time job in corporate America, but was looking for a higher sense of satisfaction. After attending my first National Speakers Association Carolinas meeting, I knew it was possible to travel around the country speaking and helping students full time.

In 2011 while I was a junior at UNC-Charlotte I ran for Student Body Vice President and lost by 19 votes in the largest and closest election in UNCC history. I had a lot of fear when deciding to run, but after losing, I realized that the voice of fear tells a lot of lies. I beat the voice and decided to run, but I wondered how many other students let their voice of fear stop them from attempting things. I made it my mission from that day to stop students from succumbing to their fears.

I now collect the fears/roadblocks of students and help them reframe them so they can achieve everything they imagine for their lives.

What does Bellamy Inspires mean to you?

Owning Bellamy Inspires means I get to live life on my terms. Every day I get to decide what gets my focus and what I want to learn to make other lives better. I pinch myself at least every other day to ensure this life I’m living is real. This venture gives me the opportunity to change paradigms and leave students better than when I arrived.

What have you had to overcome in order to achieve success?

To get to where I am today, I had to try things and FAIL along the way. I’ve learned from every failure in my life, and every one of them made me a better person and entrepreneur. I’m just getting started. After graduating from college, I tried to start a business called Kollege Koncierge to help first-year students on my campus. I only had one parent sign up which forced me to jump into the corporate world to survive. Leaving a competitive salary behind three years later to become a professional speaker allowed me to conquer the fear of failure and any self-doubt. Every day is a constant process of pushing out of my comfort zone to help more students achieve more.

What does it mean to be a black business owner?

For me, it’s about showing people who look like me that it’s possible. I remember when deciding to buy my house almost three years ago, the reason I felt more comfortable going through with it was that I saw an older fraternity brother that I looked up to do it first. If he had not done it and survived the process, I would have been more apprehensive. One of my goals is for minority millennials to ask themselves, “He did it, so what’s stopping me?” I want them to see I made the jump and the decision was positive. I’m eating well, traveling the country, while doing what I love. What’s stopping you from putting yourself in the position to do the same? You got it — nothing. Let’s go!

“This venture gives me the opportunity to change paradigms and leave students better than when I arrived.”

What advice do you have for people who are ready to follow their dreams but are hesitating?

Realize this: You’re going to die. That probably came out a little rough, but it’s the truth, we have limited time, and we get one shot at this thing! I don’t want you to hesitate for years to finally do what you’ve been hesitating to do for years and realize that if you had done it years ago, you would have either been further along or on to another idea by now.

Everyone who has achieved anything great has failed multiple times, probably every day. People who pay me to coach them pay me not to learn what made me successful, but to avoid my mistakes. Yes, I get paid because of my past mistakes and failures. Stop looking at your dreams and hesitating because of the fear of failure or judgment, or because you think you’re not good enough. Convince yourself and get moving — don’t make me have to tell you again!

Want to contact Darryl for more information?

Visit BellamyInspires.com to learn more, and you can also find me on all social media platforms using the handle @BellamyInspires. Do you want to stay connected forever? Text the word FEARLESS to 66866.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

Do you know a Black Creator or Tastemaker? Of course you do! Let me know in the comments so I can feature him or her this year!

If you like this post please tap the 💚 below so other people have a higher chance of finding and reading it!

--

--

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers

TheContentPlug.com // Social media obsessed Millennial looking to record thoughts in more than 280 characters. #LexInTech #LexInTex