Dionna Dorsey & DISTRICT of CLOTHING

Putting the city on her back — literally

The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers
3 min readMar 23, 2017

--

Even though I only lived in DC for a short amount of time, the energy and perseverance of the city has stuck with me since I’ve been down in Texas.

Almost every person I crossed paths with in DC was a doer. I looked up to so many people because they had their own business, non-profit or side-hustle. It was also inspiring to know that these amazing people were connected to one another and helping each other be the best they could be.

That’s why when David S. Mitchell told me to feature Dionna Dorsey on the #2017BlackList, I knew I had to reach out and discover more about her and the DISTRICT of CLOTHING. Take a moment to learn more about why she is one of many change makers Washington D.C. needs.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

First & Last Name

Dionna Dorsey

Why did you decide to start DISTRICT of CLOTHING?

I wanted to create something positive and encouraging — something reflective of what was happening around me. As a creative entrepreneur, I’m constantly working with people who dream, and then actually take the initiative to make their dreams happen. That’s what inspired DISTRICT.

What does DISTRICT of CLOTHING mean to you?

It’s everything, especially when I have conversations with customers and hear how the brand has inspired them. Knowing that I’m a part of something that’s inspiring others to chase their dreams is, well, it’s everything to me.

What have you had to overcome in order to achieve success?

Every day is a journey filled with it’s own highs and lows, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I think that’s what I’ve tackled best, pushing through each and every day, and not allowing anything to stop me from moving forward on my journey.

What does it mean to be a black business owner?

I come from a family of entrepreneurs so this is pretty special for me. My grandfather was an entrepreneur, my grandmother (and her mother, too), my father, my aunts and cousins, and my sister, too. Continuing their legacy fills me up. It’s a blessing to have black- and woman-owned businesses, and I believe it’s a calling, too. It is imperative we provide a service to our people, and be of service to our people.

What advice do you have for people who are ready to follow their dreams but are hesitating?

Just do it. We need you. I’m a firm believer that our dreams aren’t just ours — they’re for everyone. And, if you’re fearful to step out and try something different then you’re already on the right track. Your dreams should scare you, but not stop you. When your passion meets your purpose, you’re unstoppable.

Bragging Rights

We’ll have new items available online soon so keep an eye out for them!

Want to contact Dionna for more information?

Visit DISTRICT of CLOTHING’s website at districtofclothing.com. DISTRICT is also on Twitter via @style_district, Instagram via @district_of_clothing and Facebook via /districtofdope.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

Do you know a Black Creator or Tastemaker? Of course you do! Let me know in the comments so I can feature him or her this year!

If you like this post please tap the 💚 below so other people have a higher chance of finding and reading it!

--

--

The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers

TheContentPlug.com // Social media obsessed Millennial looking to record thoughts in more than 280 characters. #LexInTech #LexInTex