Jerel Butler & Millennial Financial Solutions

Teaching millennials that managing money does matter

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers
4 min readApr 21, 2017

--

I have a friend in Raleigh who is a realtor, and we were recently speaking about how difficult it is to get people into their first home. He’s running into trouble because many individuals in our generation have credit issues and are unaware of how to manage it from the beginning.

While many of us millennials turn to our parents for help, we must also recognize the importance of asking outside professionals who have studied the skill of managing finances day in and day out.

Jerel Butler is a financial planner who understands the importance in putting your best foot forward. He focuses on the success of minority millennials and knows first hand what it’s like to try and establish your finances from the ground up. Learn more about him and how he wants millennials to know that managing money matters.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

First & Last Name

Jerel Butler

Why did you decide to start Millennial Financial Solutions?

When I was 21 years old, I totaled my vehicle. My credit situation was so bad that I was barely able to get a used car to replace it. That situation forced me to take a look in the mirror and question my REAL money issues.

I started to educate myself on one thing: how money really works. I became obsessed with learning more and more about personal finance, and decided that one day I would like to open up my own financial planning firm. In 2015, I decided it was time to put the vision into action and then something interesting happened. When I looked at the demographics on the average financial planner, I noticed that there was a lack of attention in two groups, millennials and minorities. That’s where the idea to tailor my firm to millennials and minorities came to fruition. I want to empower people who want to become more financially literate and make smart financial decisions, but lack the outlet or the helping hand to do so.

What does Millennial Financial Solutions mean to you?

I am big on two things: Passion and Purpose. When those two things meet, your business no longer becomes a job. Millennial Financial Solutions allows me to impact others in a way that will hopefully help people from all walks of life take control of their financial picture. My business helps me to live out my passion and execute on my purpose, and it is a great feeling!

What have you had to overcome in order to achieve success?

My high school football coach always said that adversity builds character. I use that logic every day to overcome obstacles in my life. Even though I grew up in a single-parent home in a tough neighborhood in New Orleans without influential role models, I use those obstacles to inspire others and be a source of inspiration for those coming behind me.

What does it mean to be a black business owner?

It is really hard to put into a couple of sentences. It’s critical for me to show my people the concept of ownership, empowerment, and the power of the “Black Dollar.” I want to be a source of hope for the black culture and being a black business owner of a financial planning firm is my way of providing that light for others to be inspired.

What advice do you have for people who are ready to follow their dreams but are hesitating?

Take the leap, and make the jump! Often times we are hesitant because we want all of the different variables in play to be perfect. The situation will never be perfect. But success is on the other side of fear, and you may never be fulfilled until you chase your passions and make the leap!

Bragging Rights

A random fun fact about me is that I was a Division 1 track athlete at Southeastern Louisiana University, and still hold the school record for the 4x400 meter relay! On the financial side, I just completed my first tax prep season and I am excited that I was able to add another service to my business!

I’m also teaming up with a friend to learn the ropes on Forex Trading. We hope to bring the knowledge we obtain back to the communities to encourage people to learn about the economic markets and how it can work for you. Stay tuned for more on that!

Want to contact Jerel for more information?

Visit Millennial Financial Solutions’ website at millennial-financial.com. The company is on Instagram at @millennialfinancial and also has a Facebook Page. Also feel free to email Jerel at jbutler@millennial-financial.com.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

Do you know a Black Creator or Tastemaker? Of course you do! Let me know in the comments so I can feature him or her this year!

If you like this post please tap the 💚 below so other people have a higher chance of finding and reading it!

--

--

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers

TheContentPlug.com // Social media obsessed Millennial looking to record thoughts in more than 280 characters. #LexInTech #LexInTex