Sydney Chandler & The Baddie Brunch Series

Connecting like-minded women over brunch

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers
3 min readApr 1, 2017

--

As a 20-something living in Austin, Texas, brunch has easily become an integral part of my week. Getting together with friends over a great meal and a few mimosas is a great way to close out a busy work week.

What makes me a fan of the Baddie Brunch series is how it does all of the above but does it with a purpose. Sydney has created an event that has introduced me to women that I wouldn’t have met otherwise. Her first Austin event, Baddie Hour, was a major success and her next Dallas event was just as huge. I can’t wait to see what she brings to Austin, and beyond, this year!

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

First & Last Name

Sydney Chandler

Why did you decide to start the Baddie Brunch series?

I found I had dynamic groups of women around me in different friend circles. I randomly made it my mission to blend those groups over mimosas and brunch bites. From there, The Baddie Brunch Series was born. Women with multiple passions and professions needed to know that more of us exist. I made it my responsibility to bring our Black Girl Magic together!

What do The Baddie Brunch Series mean to you?

The Baddie Brunch Series means so much to me and my community. It negates the negative connotation that when Black women get together there’s nothing but shade, gossip, and RBF, which has been my goal. It means that strong, sophisticated, Black women can fellowship and support one another. We can divulge on hot topics, give each other compliments and slay while doing it.

What have you had to overcome in order to achieve success?

I had to overcome when I was laid off from my job in the middle of 2016. My job was my only source of income; it funded The Baddie Brunch Series. When I lost that security blanket, I was extremely unsure about how my series would push forward.

Through many prayers and the support of my Baddie Sisters and other Black business owners, I was able to continue hosting Baddie Brunches. Actually, my very next brunch was the largest brunch yet, hosting 150 men and women!

What does it mean to be a black business owner?

Being a Black business owner means I have a responsibility to myself and my community to continue.

Being a business owner period –WOW (I’ve never acknowledged myself as that before). Being a business owner, period, is a tough job. It requires a great deal of self-motivation, faith, and trust. Sometimes I lack those three things, but I have a constant reminder that I’m not doing this just for me. I have a duty to the Black community to push forward and to show those that come after me that it is possible and you can do it.

What advice do you have for people who are ready to follow their dreams but are hesitating?

JUST DO IT! (Shoutout to Nike). But seriously, when I started The Baddie Brunch Series, I wasn’t waiting for a business plan, a loan from the bank, an LLC, or any of that. I hosted my first brunch with 15 of my closest girlfriends just to see what would happen. Well, MAGIC ENSUED! And I just kept going. All the other technical stuff just fell into play through networking and the grace of God.

Bragging Rights

The Baddie Brunch Series, Inc’s one year anniversary was January 28! Visit any of the sites below for more information on our future brunches!

I am traveling also taking the series on the road this year! We just hosted our first Baddie Brunch in Houston & our Austin Baddie Brunch will happen this summer.

Want to contact Sydney for more information?

You can subscribe to The Baddie Brunch Series’ email list via its website at baddiebrunch.com. Baddie Brunch is also on Instagram via @baddie_brunch and on Facebook as Baddie Brunch. You can also email Sydney at connect@baddiebrunch.com.

✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦

Do you know a Black Creator or Tastemaker? Of course you do! Let me know in the comments so I can feature him or her this year!

If you like this post please tap the 💚 below so other people have a higher chance of finding and reading it!

--

--

Alexis Davis
The 2017 Black Creators and Tastemakers

TheContentPlug.com // Social media obsessed Millennial looking to record thoughts in more than 280 characters. #LexInTech #LexInTex