And I Already Flopped

T. A. Alston
The 263 Day Challenge
2 min readApr 16, 2017

Yesterday was day three of the 263 day challenge. And yesterday, I forgot to publish a blog post. I am kind of pissed at myself for missing a day. I seriously thought that I was going to be able to pull it off — that is, write everyday for 263 days. But I flopped.

I guess I have some sort of reason, though it is a lame excuse. Yesterday was my friend Pam’s wedding. She is Indian and married an Indian man, and thus her wedding was an all day affair. The picture you see above is inside of a Temple, where I sat crossed legged on the floor with no shoes and a bandana on my head. It was eleven o’clock in the morning, and prior to the ceremony was breakfast. After the ceremony we had lunch (again with crossed legs on the floor), and left to go home. Part of the wedding day includes the Doli, a ritual that Wikipedia tells me “marks the departure of the bride from her parental house.” My fiancé and I skipped this part (sorry Pam!) and decided to go home to let our fur son Prince out to use the bathroom and take him to the park. It was a beautiful day and we did not want him cooped up in the apartment.

Now I could have written a blog post between lunch and the cocktail hour that started at six o’clock. But I did not, and I will use a cliche and say it is because I was living in the moment.

Oh well. Hopefully this will not happen again.

Until tomorrow.

--

--