Junot Diaz Dropping Gems

T. A. Alston
The 263 Day Challenge
1 min readApr 27, 2017

Hands down Junot Diaz is my favorite writer. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, his debut and Pulitzer Prize winning novel, to me, is the GNOAT (Greatest Novel of All Time). At the time of this writing, I am watching a talk he gave at Wellesley College in 2013 on YouTube. And in the talk, he dropped the following gem:

You know how they got this kinda new economy these days? You leave your job and you suddenly find yourself not employed for eleven years? I mean, they’ve really put the squeeze on us, and they’re trying to convince us it’s our problem and not capitalism’s problem.

I could go into a diatribe about this. Like, how jobs require you to have three years of experience in the same position that you are applying to. But I will just leave here.

¡Hasta mañana!

--

--