Top 3 Reasons Why All Businesses Should Outsource Social Media Management

Business owners simply do not have the time to run their business and run an effective social media marketing campaign! Time for a Social Media Manager.

Alicia Scott
The 2X CEO
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2015

--

Let’s cut to the chase, as a business owner I rarely have time to manage my own marketing efforts. Luckily for me my business is marketing. When I started my consulting practice I focused primarily on writing content for websites, marketing copy and other business blogs. My first few clients loved my writing and soon after they asked if I could revamp their entire website. Through the natural evolution of business dealings, my clients then began requesting help with managing all of their sites content.

“Oh and can you also manage our company Twitter, Facebook…and can you help me with my LinkedIn profile too,” said one client after another.

And so the story goes: I shifted the focus of my content writing business to social media management and web development. That being said I have come to the realization that all businesses need to outsource their social media marketing and management efforts; because no business owner really has the time to manage their own social media accounts. Not one second, minute or hour!

So if you’re a business owner and you haven’t come this same realization yet, allow me to convince you. Here are my Top 3 Reasons why every business NEEDS to outsource their social media management.

1. Saves Money: It’s more cost effective to pay a contractor than it is to hire a full or part-time employee.

You know your business needs to have a presence on social media and you’re considering hiring a full or part-time social media manager for what, $30k annually? But it will really costs your company about $44K to have that employee, right? If your business is lucrative enough to hire a permanent employee you should tack on another 15% to 30% in addition to their salary for peripheral costs such as workers comp insurance, user licensing, liability insurance, etc.

A freelance Social Media Manager has all those costs already built-in to their offerings. All you have to do is pay their fees, and leave all the new insurance premiums, licensing and employee relations mumbo jumbo at the door. Save money and reinvest it back into your business!

Sidebar::: Holy smokes! So if you’re in the “big leagues” and can actually afford $30k a year in marketing on social media, think of what you can get from an outsourced social media manager? Call me. Did I give you my number?

2. Frees Your Time: You don’t have the time to run your business and market effectively on social media.

As a small business owner you need to have a social media presence. You realize that most of the social media platforms are free to use, and you really want to use them; but you don’t have the time!

You’re busy running your business, helping clients, managing your workflow, stressing over bills, contracts, customers…blah, blah, blah. But you need to be on social media so that you can actually grow your business.

The only way for a small business to get into the social media marketing game is to outsource their social media management — even if it’s the smallest package a company offers. Some marketing on social media is better than no marketing on social media.

If you have a website that is designed to capture more business for your company, it needs to be promoted or you’re just throwing dollars into the wind. An un-promoted website is like a store that never opens for business. Kinda silly, eh?

3. Maximum Brand Exposure: A good Social Media manager will have a website and client portfolio of their own, which can give your business another channel of marketing exposure.

I can’t recount how many times I've been perusing the gallery or portfolio of a website and found myself led right to their client’s actual site. It was like a trail of breadcrumbs! Here’s the deal, if your social media manager doesn’t have a great website of their own, you need a new social media manager.

A good portion of social media managers are avid content marketers who promote their own content, blogs and websites regularly. As one of their clients your website will have an additional “breadcrumb” from their site to yours. Just like this article and my clients! 1 million people will read this article, wonder who I am and it will lead them back to my website>gallery> you! If you’re one of my past or existing clients that is. You catch my drift?

Alicia Scott is Founder + Chief Social Media Manager of Introspect Consulting Group, a Social Media Management and Web Development Consultancy in Savannah, GA. She writes a syndicated column for the Savannah Herald Newspaper.She is Tweeting @garrulousbanter And find her on>>> Facebook and LinkedIn too!

--

--

Alicia Scott
The 2X CEO

Executive Director of Launchpad2X | Tedx Speaker 2018 | GA State House Candidate 2018| I grow women millionaires