What Would Olivia Pope Do?

Black women are inherently “culturally agile” and best suited to handle your PR crisis.

Alicia Scott
The 2X CEO

--

I am a public relations consultant in the deep South. I also happen to be a black woman. No, I’m not the real Olivia Pope — the black woman who is the inspiration behind Shonda Rhimes hit show Scandalthat would be the lovely Judy Smith. I am however, fully entrenched in the regional politics and business world of my infamously fabulous city, Savannah, GA.

If you’ve ever read John Berendt’s book Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (or seen the movie staring John Cusak and Kevin Spacey), then you might have a pretty good idea of how things work around these parts.

I keep busy.

When I first jumped into this business I learned quickly that most people, sadly, do not have a Crisis PR strategy. In fact, most politicians don’t either. As such, most of my public relations work is specifically crisis public relations; and this line of work requires a very specific skill-set.

In the TV show, character Olivia Pope’s professional mantra is that, “I always trust my gut;” because in the crisis public relations world you must make quick, smart, intuitive decisions to help save your clients ass.

Not everyone is has the skill-set necessary to operate in this arena, but they can surely try to develop them.

Allow me to share a few of the “rules”I use to keep my edge as PR professional in the real world . And no, I haven’t had any love affairs with the president, nor do I have any former covert operatives as staff on my team.

Real life is far less exciting than Olivia’s and a great deal more exact than behind-the-scenes maneuvering, as seen on TV.

A typical call from a client needing crisis PR goes something like this:

Client:“Hi, My name is Joe Schmoe…uh, have you seen the newspaper this morning?

Me: Hi Mr. Schmoe, No I haven’t tell me whats going on?

Client: “Wellll…you know they’re lying. It’s…I didnt’….it’s an attack on my character and a misrepresentation of what I said. It’s because I didn’t vote on this…they’re mounting up against because everybody’s conspiring against me! They’re paid-off…

Rule #1: Don’t judge the client. But if you can’t help it, don’t take them on.

Most clients who need Crisis PR help are always certain they are the unwitting victim of a vast conspiracy. And, actually sometimes they are. But my job is to help my clients, not crack conspiracy cases.

I have to put things into context and be a professional — leaving all judgments in my wine glass. Besides, a conspiracy is nothing more than a group plan that includes people who aren’t privy to the details.

After that initial panicked call I set-up a face-to-face meeting as soon as possible so I can see what I am working with. Can they handle a live press conference? Are they lying?

Public likability of the client is a huge factor. So is lying.

Rule #2: Craft a media response based on truths. Always!

Lying doesn’t preclude me from taking anyone on as a client; but it’s nearly impossible to clean up a public figure’s reputation using lies.

When a lie is used in a public response, the liar must always work to remember that version of their story. The human mind can’t remember events that didn’t really happen very well. That lie will haunt them forever; and in many cases eventually land them in jail!

Always use facts and be sure these facts are appropriate for each particular client. Which brings me to the next rule.

Rule #3: Understand the double-standard for black people, white people, men and women.

I’m good at what I do because I am “culturally comfortable” in all circles. A retired white male politician once told me, “You can say all the things I can’t because you’re a black woman.”

I realized he was 100% correct and that is likely the reason behind Judy Smith and Scandal’s success — black women are inherently “culturally agile.” (There are numerous reasons to support this assumption but that’s another article.)

Being culturally agile is a core competency that all good Public Relations professionals must have. If they don’t, it could me disaster for their clients.

Some easy cross-cultural rules that I use to help me navigate the double-standard:

Men of all races can run the same Crisis PR strategy; except the race card for black men and defensive posturing for white men.

White women and black women must adhere to persona avoidance. Back women must avoid portraying the “Sister Girl” persona and white women must avoid portraying the “Entitled Heather” persona.

These are hard fast rules I live by when crafting a crisis media strategy. But some people just don’t seem to understand these cultural norms and when they don’t, the consequences can be devastating.

Here’s a real life scenario of a non-client:

A young white woman called me help after a local businessman, who was her previous employer, gave a scathing interview about her with the local media. She worked for an elected official and had “whistle-blown” on the businessman to a government investigation agency.

News reporters were hounding her for her side of the salacious story and she was devastated. A close friend asked me if I could help her out as a favor.

I spent 2.5 hours instructing her on what her response to the reporters should be:

  1. Do not brag about your volunteering.
  2. Do not talk about all your accomplishments all over town.
  3. Make sure you tell the reporters that you have no idea why you are being attacked by this person. Because its you true!
  4. Be sure you convey how confused you are by all of this. Because you are!
  5. Tell the reporters that you are in fear of your life. Because you are!

I assumed the businessman had enough money for a PR professional and he would go for the jugular.

Her only strategy was a counter-offensive to show how she was being bullied by the big bad mean businessman, he was also white so he would undoubtedly survive!

Outcome: She was tarred and feathered in Sunday’s paper — the cover story above the fold.

What went wrong: When she got off the phone with me she went to her white male boss who told her to do the opposite of what I instructed her. It was a classic case of both of them (she and her boss) lacking an understanding about their own culture in the media!

She called me crying uncontrollably after sending pictures of the newest scathing story, which quoted her the exact words her boss wrote her at the end: I am a volunteer at this place. I have done this and that. I believe the truth will prevail in court!

Final Rule #4: Always listen to the professional!

When you find yourself in a public snafu (situation normal, all fucked up) don’t try to handle it on your own. A good PR professional is always worth their weight in gold!

--

--

Alicia Scott
The 2X CEO

Executive Director of Launchpad2X | Tedx Speaker 2018 | GA State House Candidate 2018| I grow women millionaires