I’ve Played the Game Of Depression…Once Again

Cleio
Authentics
Published in
3 min readJul 1, 2019

--

Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

Depression is a game of thought. The more you think about it, the more you create a path to lose. It is not a game for the mentally stable ones or for the optimistic people who seems to know what they should do when they’re stuck in a certain situation.

For the past 4 months that I’m absent here on Medium, I’ve been playing that game again. Before hitting the rock bottom, I tried to view it from a different angle. I am not a psychologist nor a psychiatrist, but I will share some of the things I discovered based on my experience for 8 years of playing this deadly game.

It messes with your thoughts.

During the different phases of my depression, I can’t seem to let myself do some other things. My thoughts are more focus on the negative things that I’ve been feeling. It drains the positive side of myself.

The difficulty to let myself focus to some things that can let me feel the light is what makes depression challenging to break away from. It is what magnetizes me to get back to that nauseating feeling of being a pessimist. It is honestly an exhausting cycle.

Those who have experienced and fought the same battle as I, know that it will require plenty of back-breaking and mind-bending effort just to shift your thoughts to something else.

--

--

Cleio
Authentics

Freelance Writer | Daughter of Medium | Published on The Writing Cooperative, The Post-Grad Survival, The Ascent, & Authentics.