Welcome to the 500-Word Rant.

A Zen-like exercise in discipline, staying in the present, and letting go of all worldly care, except my extreme anger.

Lon Shapiro
THE 500-WORD RANT

--

Original Illustration by Author. Notice the subtle gradations and sophisticated color palette juxtaposed against my crude drawing skills.

In my journey to become a high quality writer (as evidenced here, here, here, and here), I’ve noticed some bad habits.

Those faults include, but are not limited to:

  1. An almost addictive adoration anchored in avidity and attached to any and all alliteration.
  2. The desire to write about too many subjects in the same article.
  3. A reckless love for the stream of consciousness expression.
  4. The bizarre notion that readers won’t mind ridiculously long set-ups, as long as there’s a good punch line, for example:

“I started to write a brief response… But how could the simple phrase “just keep writing, it really does matter” suffice, when I could whip up a 1,000-word post out of (and composed primarily by) thin air?”

To overcome these bad habits, I will write 500-word essays.

To symbolize this new…

--

--

Lon Shapiro
THE 500-WORD RANT

High quality creative & design https://guttmanshapiro.com. Former pro athlete & high quality performance coach. Teach the world one high quality joke at a time