500-WORD RANT #5

Writers Need to Include Disclaimers

A vital lesson in communication by Deborah Tannen, Ph.D.

Lon Shapiro
THE 500-WORD RANT
Published in
3 min readSep 5, 2019

--

Don’t be misinterpreted! I’m offering custom-designed, personalized writing disclaimers at a low, low cost.

Today, I wrote an article on creativity, based on over 20 years of professional experience in advertising. In response, my spiritual sister in humor wrote a funny comment, and I realized:

I am branded as a clown, deservedly, or not.

Look at my profile. While some people don’t think I’m funny, I was a Top Writer in Satire and Humor, for some inexplicable reason.

I use the word inexplicable for two reasons:

  1. I don’t get the enormous response received by the real Top Writers in Humor. (Perhaps the algorithm counted all my stories with the “Humor” tag, took pity on my ineptitude, and gave me a participation trophy); or,
  2. The “Humor” tag has nothing to do with being funny. There are successful writers in one genre who add the “Humor” tag, even when they’re not funny. Kind of like the idiot (thank God women are smart enough not to breach this particular bastion of gender inequality) who takes a dump on a cafeteria table and thinks he’s funny because one person laughs nervously while the rest of the group is groaning or stifling the urge to vomit.

--

--

Lon Shapiro
THE 500-WORD RANT

High quality creative & design https://guttmanshapiro.com. Former pro athlete & high quality performance coach. Teach the world one high quality joke at a time