The 52 Book Challenge — How I Plan to Read a Book a Week in 2023

Rohin Shahi
The 52-Book Reading Challenge
3 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Photo by Gülfer ERGİN on Unsplash

I used to spend my summers lounging on a lawn chair with a book in hand, immersing myself in fantastical worlds and crazy ideas. My reading habits have suffered in the years since, with growing responsibilities and other forms of entertainment jostling for my attention. In 2023, I want to bring back reading full force and plan to finish a new book each week.

I graduated from college last May, and made an unofficial goal to “read more.” Since then, I’ve read ten books, a big feat in and of itself, but 52 books is a whole other level. Sticking to such an ambitious goal will be tough, but I have a few strategies in mind to stay on track:

  • Dedicated reading time: This is probably the most obvious step, but one I imagine would be the hardest to stick to. I plan to have an hour of reading time right before bed, which I’m sure is a far better habit than the mindless scrolling before bed I’d do otherwise.
  • Posting about it: The easiest way for me to commit to something is to tell people I plan to do it. I’m thinking of creating a TikTok account to share my progress, and I plan to blog and do book reviews on Medium. Be sure to subscribe if you’d like to follow my journey.
  • Creating a rhythm: 52 books in 52 weeks. It has a ring to it. A full-size calendar is on its way, and I look forward to slashing a big X each Sunday on that week’s book.
  • No lists: I haven’t created a list of books I’m planning to read; I don’t plan to either. If I’m browsing a bookstore and something piques my interest, I want to be able to pick it up on a whim without worrying about sticking to a strict, preselected 52-book playlist. I plan to read a mix of genres, from personal finance to YA fantasy, murder mysteries to memoirs, and believe that this approach will keep things fresh.
  • Dropping a book: It doesn’t happen often, but sometimes a book truly isn’t interesting. It took me a while to realize, but there’s no actual obligation to finish a book, and in the long run, dropping a book I dislike will be the best for this challenge.
  • Audiobooks: Some may argue that listening to an audiobook isn’t reading. I disagree. I spend a lot of time in the car and particularly enjoy listening to nonfiction while driving. This’ll be a great way to shake up the way I read and grant additional reading time beyond my nightly one-hour blocks.
  • Finding a reading buddy/community: I’m sure others are planning a similar challenge. By holding each other accountable, sharing insights from each other’s books, and building this community, this 52-book goal will be far more achievable (and way more fun). If you’re interested, shoot me a message.

I’ve picked up the first two books I plan to read this year: S. by Doug Dorst and J.J. Adams, and Stories that Stick by Kindra Hall. I’ve read the first few pages of both and am really excited for what the next two weeks hold.

If you have any recommendations, I’d love to hear them. Happy reading!

--

--

Rohin Shahi
The 52-Book Reading Challenge

Author of The Z Factor. Engineer @ Magical. I write about books, writing, acting, tech, and more. Duke '22 -- CS, Psych, Finance