Karen Strong speaks on Owning Your Voice as a Black Writer

Tamika Newhouse
The AAMBC Journal
Published in
4 min readAug 12, 2020

--

Coming into your own as a writer is no easy feat; however, Black Writers Weekend provides a weekend for aspiring and established writers to hone in nurturing their talent, voice, and gift of Black writing and storytelling. Stephanie Lahart stated, “Black Girls, don’t be afraid to use your voice. Your thoughts, opinions, and ideas are just as important as anybody else’s.” One author unapologetically affirming their unique voice is the awe-inspiring Karen Strong. Known for her critically acclaimed middle-grade book, Just South of Home is recognized on Best of Year lists, including Kirkus Reviews Best Books, CCBC Choices, and Bank Street Best Books. Karen crafts book connecting southern culture, the supernatural, and social justice. I briefly had the pleasure of chatting with Karen regarding her writing journey, and her wisdom will empower Black authors to own their unique writing power within.

Nikita Haynie: A lot of writers speak about “the moment” they knew writing was their gift, when did you know you were a writer?

Karen Strong: I grew up in the country and a family of storytellers, I discovered my passion for writing at seven. I thought I wanted to major in Journalism but didn’t begin my writing journey until after college.

--

--