Omar Bogen. Helping Daters Find A Destination.

Phoenix Williams
The AAMBC Journal
Published in
3 min readAug 25, 2020

I recently had the absolute pleasure of speaking with author Omar Bogen. Talented, layered, charismatic, and witty, Omar is the type of author readers dream of. With his book Dating With A Destination on the cusp of release, we sat down to have a conversation.

Phoenix: Welcome, Omar. How are you tonight?

Omar: I’m good and you?

Phoenix: Pretty good. Let’s go ahead and jump right in.

Omar: *Chuckles nervously* I’m ready.

Phoenix: How did you get started with your writing career?

Omar: In my previous career as a Spiritual Counselor, I had to write a lot of speeches. A lot of those contained messages that took me on a personal journey. Self-awareness, self-reflection, self-organization, learning were just a few of the things I discovered. I wanted to take those lessons and put out a book that was about being a better human being.

Phoenix: How did you select your title — Dating With A Destination?

Omar: Everybody’s trying to get married. If we’re dating, we should have a destination and a direction. Relationship. Friendship. Each of those is a ship because life is an ocean. You need to enter these with a destination.

Phoenix: What is your writing Kryptonite?

Omar: *Laughs* Netflix! It always has a show that I haven’t watched. Another season! I’m done. It drives me crazy. Netflix is the devil.

Phoenix: If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Omar: Invest in a lot of personal growth first. It’s more important to be a better human being and have a greater heart before doing anything else. Allow love to flow and never put a cap on it.

Phoenix: Who are you reading right now?

Omar: Start With Why by Simon Sinek

Phoenix: What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Omar: Knowing that I did everything I could do and then letting the world have it. This is your baby and you put your all into it and then you give it to the world. Then someone says, “This is crap!” *Chuckles*

Phoenix: What is one book that you remember from your childhood?

Omar: The Encyclopedia Britannica. I think every house had those. I’d read it and have to write a report.

Phoenix: What is the final goal for your career?

Omar: TV, Movies, Plays, speaking engagements. I want to do it all. This will be a four-part series so it’s possible. I’m working on a movie script now.

Phoenix: What is one thing you want people to get from your book?

Omar: Wisdom because from wisdom you can get healing, understanding, deliverance, and direction.

At the end of our conversation that was filled with laughter and depth, I was left with one thought. Omar Bogen is every reader’s dream. Not because he’s giving dating advice. Not because he had the courage to write a book. Not even because he is using his experience as a Spiritual Counselor. Omar is every reader’s dream because he is pushing us to do one thing.

Be a better human being.

--

--

Phoenix Williams
The AAMBC Journal

Award nominated author. Black nerd. Erotica enthusiast. AAMBC Journal columnist.