Vulnerability

Breannon Renee
The AAMBC Journal

--

Being vulnerable isn’t easy it can be scary sometimes letting yourself go. If you are comfortable opening up to others be prepared to not get the same exchange in return. If you choose to reveal sensitive things about yourself it doesn’t open the gates for others to as well. I’m learning lately that some people feed off of your vulnerability they take what they want and leave.

As a creative person vulnerability is your strength. Being able to talk about and tape into the most vulnerable parts of yourself will let you strive in creative outlets. If you are a guarded individual it can be difficult to be vulnerable. Never let other people stop you from being free if you want to let it all out on the table do just that but know beforehand that it might not be reciprocated. Vulnerability is ultimately for you because it’s freeing. Letting out your deepest desires, darkest experiences, greatest joys etc isn’t just freeing but it’s inspiring, motivating, brave and honest. Never let people keep you from being vulnerable because you’ll regret not feeling those emotions. I’ve opened up to people who held back being vulnerable and I don’t regret it because everyone’s different. People aren’t encouraged to be vulnerable by society. I’ve observed more love geared towards individuals being closed off from the world than being open to embrace it.

Some of my biggest vulnerabilities are released through being creative. I’ve let my demons out through words and I’ve flooded the stage with my pain and painted my tears. At times I can’t even make it through the day unless I write out my pain. I performed a monologue I wrote and that helped me release so much of what I had bottled inside. The animosity I felt for myself at a time was heavy because I let it well up Inside myself. Sometimes I write about happiness and joy but other times I write about pain and tragedies. I feel like if I lay all my vulnerabilities on the table I can help another person do the same and free themselves.

Vunerable

I gave you all of me,

But still you only pretended to see,

You took advantage of my openness,

The only thing I can do now is practice forgiveness,

I told you my darkest secrets,

I divulged my pain and I have no regrets,

Putting my heart on the line,

All you did was waste my time,

People always thrive off of my energy,

I guess you could say I must be a good memory,

Telling me what I wanted to hear,

While I told you all my fears,

Optimistic spirits are things that pessimistic souls want near,

If you were a guarded person why didn’t you make that clear,

I live in the realm of emotions,

You run at the sight of passion and commotion,

Getting told I’m too uninhibited and free,

I can’t help the way Jesus created me,

Before I die I want to tell it all,

Talk about the times I felt big and the events that made me feel so small,

In my mind I can’t contain these thoughts,

Can’t forget all the battles I fought,

Not ashamed of my scars,

Willing to admit when I took it too far,

I’m not perfect and I’ll never try to be,

All I can do is be Bre.

By: Breannon Renee’

--

--