A Reckless Drive to the Future

Gwen Dizon
The Academically Driven
3 min readMay 29, 2021

The self-pacing time that awaits for the desires of the people of what lies ahead; are we ready for this?

Credits to @soymeraki in Unsplash

It was midnight as I stare at the dim screen of my phone, checking if someone else is awake. I was unable to sleep as my bed was aligned near the window, making me hear the loud whistles of the wind pass through it. It was a dark, cold night when I ponder, how will I pass through it — the future?

I believe that I am an organized person. During 8th grade, I already had a methodical blueprint for me to follow on my succeeding years yet my contemplation was not the only hurdle that I need to jump on, there were a lot of hindrances before I made an action. Hurdle after hurdle, I made mistakes and restart a plan for myself again.

In a few months, I am supposed to take a track related to the course I will take for college yet in confusion, I don’t have a personal choice. “What are these tracks for anyway?” I assumed bewildered, disregarding what the future will hold for me once I make a decision. I never saw any significance from it before; I thought that it’s just a waste of two years in my life.

As I debated with myself through my head at that lonely night, I got tired and cussed at myself: “I’m hopeless.” I felt like I was irresponsibly driving without a road to take and a destination to go. I keep erasing the plots to start another drawing but it turns out that I’m just making a fool out of myself. “My life depends on this,” I continued inside my empty head.

It was almost impossible for me to go to bed as these thoughts were disturbing me, making me fear for what I will be. I dreamed for becoming a nurse, a doctor, an author, a veterinarian, a lawyer, and a lot more yet the years I will waste for my own education can be given for another reason like traveling the world and giving time to myself, so is it worth it?

I told my mother about what’s bothering me and she told me, “Education isn’t a waste of time; it’s an investment for your future.” It did not struck me for awhile, but I feel like it will be buried in my mind forever. My family has a lot of ambitions for me too and they support whatever I will take but I told them, “I’m tired of this, I don’t want to do this anymore,” and teared up.

Thinking about the future worries me as a lot of other problems are weighted on my shoulders; as someone who is mostly leaned on and as someone who is mostly looked up at, it really stresses me out. Giving myself time makes me anxious whenever I think of all the school related activities I’m missing out yet I don’t even have a determination to pursue something before I become a working class.

However, I opened my eyes as I regarded people around me who are in their worse scenario than I do. Yet, people with power and knowledge does not turn their backs at people like me and help us to realize what we truly need. There are a lot of career orientations taken place not only in schools but also in the Internet and other necessary places it can happen.

There was a career orientation in my school on late September wherein multiple career paths were discussed in assigned classrooms in one of the buildings. It was a weekend and a lot of students in my batch gave it up just to hear the experiences of professional from such given paths. I was inspired with how everyone discussed about it; during that time, I made a decision.

I began another blueprint to follow, a new road to drive on, and a location to go to; it was a relief that I already made the most important choice for myself, for my future, and for the people who looks up at me.

Write your mind, or read other’s. Visit The Academically Driven!

Email: theacademicallydriven@gmail.com

Instagram: @theacademicallydriven

Facebook: @theacademicallydriven

LinkedIn: The Academically Driven

Twitter: @AcademicallyThe

--

--

Gwen Dizon
The Academically Driven

17 years of touching grass and breathing air | Creative Writing and Journalism <3