Can We Please Stop With the Extravagant Birthday Parties?

Millennial Mom
The Accidental Wordsmith
3 min readFeb 6, 2024

From one mom to another, I’m begging you, please.

Photo by Joyce Adams on Unsplash

Gone are the days of basic birthday parties with balloons, cake, and a handful of friends.

Millennial moms are now faced with the daunting task of navigating Pinterest (for potentially hours) and the world of “competitive parenting.”

The result? Spectacular, highly themed events that would make even Willy Wonka himself sweat.

Luckily for me, I’ve never witnessed any of my mom friends throwing a huge extravaganza for their 4-year-olds.

So I know it’s mainly the influencers who are perpetuating this “overconsumption” of buying who-knows-what for 4 hours of fun 🙄

Are the kids even having fun?

Are the other adults?

Are the busboys?

The nannies?

The maids?

We’ll never know.

Or we all know.

My 4-year-old, bless his innocent little heart, has requested a “teenage mutant ninja turtle” party, which is adorable and understandable, but also presents a unique challenge.

Photo by Ricardo Braham on Unsplash

The Problems

1. My in-laws would say it’s “too scary” for a 4-year-old, naturally.

2. I looked all over Walmart and Amazon for ninja turtle stuff and found nothing that wasn’t so cheesy.

So I would have to go to 5 different stores to source the balloons (garland?), plates/cups/utensils, activity stuff for other kids, etc.

one thing I know for sure: I don’t have time for that.

As a modern-ish millennial mom, it’s easy to get lost in a never-ending cycle of theme-choosing, Pinterest-scrolling, and party-planning purgatory.

The pressure is real, mamas.

There are parents out there crafting DIY piñatas or paper mache’s shaped like mythical creatures and constructing balloon arches that rival the Sistine Chapel.

Photo by Victor Ballesteros on Unsplash

Meanwhile, I’m here wondering if BBQing burgers and hotdogs, and letting the kids loose in the backyard with the hand-me-down wood playhouse (probably wet from last night's rain) counts as “themed.” 😂

Let’s be real. It probably doesn’t

The Solution

Here’s the thing though. Through all the stress of party planning, the coordinated outfits with mom and dad made just for Instagram and the Pinterest perfect decorations, I, rather, we have to remind ourselves what truly matters:

Seeing that gleeful smile on your child’s face as he blows out the birthday candles, chases his friends around the house, and opens his brand new “big boy” bike.

Those are the moments I want to live for.

Photo by Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

So, this year, I’m taking a deep breath, letting go of the Pinterest pressure, and embracing a more simple type of party.

Maybe it’ll involve making some DIY ninja turtle masks that look friendly-ish and a cake with a turtle wearing a belt.

But hey, as long as my little man has a blast, that’s the only theme that truly matters. Right?

To all my fellow millennial moms out there: let’s raise our mugs of (slightly warm) coffee to the absurdity of themed birthday parties.

Remember, it’s not about perfection, it’s about the memories we create.

Maybe if set the examples first, more moms will join the resistànce!

Viva La Happiness of the Child! (Or something like that)

Till next time!

--

--

Millennial Mom
The Accidental Wordsmith

general musings from a millennial mom and wife. With a side of humor and self-deprecation. Join my new publication: The Accidental Wordsmith