Your Overworked Brain Needs Self-Care Too — Here’s How

Amy Huang
The ADHD Tech Girlie
5 min readApr 4, 2024

--

Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

What do you do when your mind is racing at million miles an hour? My ADHD brain likes to run at a faster speed than it can handle. There is no “pause” button, and I can’t sleep it off.

We can often find ourselves being pulled in countless directions. Racing thoughts, waning attention spans, anxiety, and mental lethargy are all symptoms of an overworked brain. Whenever I feel overwhelmed, I see it as a sign from my body and mind to slow down. 🏎

Your brain needs self-care too, but we don’t take enough time to do that. Here is how you can start taking care of your brain:

Stop watching videos at more than 1x speed

An interesting pattern among those with ADHD is the tendency to watch videos at more than 1x speed.

I’m certainly guilty of this. Watching anything at a normal speed is excruciating, especially when the speaker has a naturally slow rhythm.

However, I noticed that constantly speeding up videos reduced my attention span. I found myself not enjoying the experiences I used to quite the same anymore.

Once I realized the damage it has done to my brain, I forced myself to watch everything at 1x speed. I learned to digest every single word and focus on what’s in front of me.

--

--