#theFridayFeature — Amitabh Bachchan

Amey Pandit
Meraki
Published in
5 min readApr 27, 2018

“Life itself is poetry.”
- Amitabh Bachchan

“Don’t go by what you see. This is an excellent make-up job.” — Amitabh Bahchan

When the name Amitabh Bachchan touches my ears, it does so with utmost modesty, care and warmth due to the image that Big B carries with him. He’s know to be the icon of ethics and the symbol of perfection. Yet, I’m seldom reminded of an incident in school that made me wonder what Big B really is.
During a casual discussion on personality development as a part of one of our English lecture, we were asked to raise our hands to the names of film stars that we adored and admired. What began with Shah Rukh Khan ended with Amitabh Bachchan. The fact that none within us, including myself, disapproved of Big B forced me to explore on an expedition I had chosen to avoid. Simply because perfection never attracted me. One incident changed my perception towards the man who is even today worshipped by many. Having zero disapprovals either means the abundance of divinity or the lack of genuinity… And then I found another perspective, which strengthened the emphasis on the phrase ‘all that glitters isn’t gold’…

Any comment on Big B’s professional life would be repeating a lot that has been written prior. May that be on his dedication towards his profession, the childish passion he wakes up with everyday or the high amount of daunting discipline - he’s been deservingly praised by one and all throughout the nation and beyond. What amazes me is his brilliant knack for detail and design. Minute observations build memorable characters. An acumen which helped him craft the most memorable of all — brand Amitabh Bachchan.

Being a novice on the subject, watching Big B talk was a disappointment. The diplomacy made it extremely difficult to break through the brand and dwell into the person. The loving, humble and the down to earth nature made me question — is this man’s actuality flawless?

“I’ve given my art, my emotions and my sensitivity to the audience. When I’ve given so much already, I believe a little of the real Amitabh Bachchan should be left to me.”
- Amitabh Bachchan

The Name Amitabh Loosely Translates To ‘Unending Brilliance’.

Big B is a man who’s been in the film industry for over 50 years. I often wonder if it’s humanly possible for creative individuals to stick to one single chord for a complete lifetime. The hinderance came once, when Big B decided to venture into the world of politics which cost him a lot. ABCL bombed and debt rose despite which, the rode on the lost success once again, beginning what they call AB’s Second Innings.

What one should learn from Big B’s career is the constant innovation and re-invention that he’s shown in all his characters. The Angry Young Man of Zanjeer soon shifted to shady, grey characters like Mohabbatein, Aks, Aankhein, Kaatein and the highly applauded Sarkar.

“The fear of failure, fear of not being recognized, fear of losing whatever you may have built up and fear of anonymity… We all have a dark side that drives us towards success. It’s a terrible feeling.”
- Amitabh Bachchan

“The Angry Young Man”

Big B, to me, seems a person who’s succumbed to the brand Amitabh Bachchan. So much so, that he projects himself as an image conscious personality who doesn’t want his true persona revealed. Then again, one can’t blame him. There’s a reason why its called showbiz. I believe that we, as audiences are extremely judgemental. Not only towards stars, but commoners as well. A little elevated towards known celebrities. Placing them on a pedestal above the human makes them divine and Godly post which we expect people to behave in sync of what we perceive as Godly. When the projection blends with what we perceive, a successful brand image is born.

“When I was exposed to brighter lights, I began noticing prettier things, faster cars, motorbikes… girls! Then just like any young man I wanted it all!”
- Amitabh Bachchan

Within those who’ve met Big B or worked with him on an individual level speak of him as an arrogant persona. If you think that the motive of this blog is to defame Big B, you’re sadly mistaken. My aim is to simply convey the fact that no matter who, we all are humans at the end of the day. We are prone to mistakes. It is also highly rumoured that Big B post incepting his second innings, he incepted it with a wig.

If nature cannot change its ways, not even for Amitabh Bachchan’s physicality, how can nature do so when it comes to his mentality?

Filmstars are simply humans that lead their lives with an inflated ego. The baggage of fame, stardom and money brings along it loneliness, insecurity and arrogance. Imagine five people standing beneath your home every single day dying to catch a glimpse of you, you’d roam around with a broader chest. Turn those five to five hundred, and five thousand on your birthday — what you feel is exactly what Big B must be feeling on a daily basis.

“I’ve always said that actors should be treated very carefully. We need a lot of understanding. There are millions of things that could destroy us. We are broken up people inside.”
- Amitabh Bachchan

“If I told you how I predict a woman’s reaction, you’d pick that jar and throw it right at my face.” — Amitabh Bachchan

Thank You Big B for being an immense inspiration to me and millions of others. Hope the dreams that you are working towards are achieved shortly in the near future!

“ Yeh mahaan drishya hai,
Chal raha manushya hai
Ashru, swed, rakt se
Lath-path, lath-path, lath-path,
Agneepath! Agneepath! Agneepath!
( What greater spectacle,
Than to see such a man walk,
Who in tears, sweat and blood,
Is soaked, covered and coated;
And still walks on in the Path of fire!
Walks the path of fire! Yes, That Path of Fire!)”
- Agneepath (अग्निपथ), Harivansh Rai Bachchan
Translated into english by Riku Sayuj

Well, that’s all for today.

Keep reading, keep sharing and never stop believing!

“I’d like to believe that every day is a time of trial and tests as far as I’ve been concerned.”
- Amitabh Bachchan

--

--

Amey Pandit
Meraki
Editor for

"It's only words, and words are all I have to take your heart away." || Copywriter || Eklavya to @KapilMuzumdar ||