One fateful night a young man named Thomas befriends a magical creature at a bar in Downtown Los Angeles: a silver statue of a squirrel. The statue gains life when surrounded by weed smoke. While the statue cannot speak, Thomas can hear the thoughts of the Silver Squirrel. These are the stories of their adventures…

Silver Squirrel: Quarantine

Part 5

Josiah Authier
The Adventures of Silver Squirrel

--

Squirrel sat on the window ledge and listened to the protesters chant. The angry voices of thousands, wailing in mourning. His silver ears hadn’t heard anything like this before.

Though he was made of metal, Squirrel had all the sensibilities of a real squirrel. Just like his other senses, his hearing was sharpened more than that of a human’s. Many humans couldn’t hear the desperation, the pain, the cries for help.

Most humans could just hear words. Few humans could truly listen. Squirrel closed his eyes and listened to the chanting crowd:

I can’t breathe! I can’t breathe! I can’t breathe!

Thomas came over and joined him. He had two spliffs rolled up and ready to go.

“Thank god we got this XJ when we did,” said Thomas. He lit his spliff and listened to the crowd with Squirrel. “It almost doubles as a cry for the government to handle this pandemic competently.”

Why do I feel so sad? asked Squirrel.

Thomas looked at Squirrel. He really did admire the magical creature. “It means you’re more human than squirrel.” Thomas pet Squirrel on the head. “It’s called empathy. Humans feel the pain of other humans. We’re all connected by love.”

Thomas tried to smile, but he only felt the urge to cry. He fought back the tears and managed to crack a tiny smile.

“I want you to know it’s okay,” he said. “It’s okay to feel sad. It’s okay to feel anything you’re feeling. This is a difficult time for us all. What else are you supposed to feel when there is a worldwide pandemic, forty million unemployed in the US, and injustice in the streets of America.” Thomas paused and stared out the window. He couldn’t see the protesters, but he could hear them. They would not stop. They would be heard. Silent no longer.

“So much injustice…,” began Thomas, “…that a police officer murdered a man in broad daylight.” A tear ran down Thomas’s cheek. He quickly wiped it away. Squirrel saw this and nuzzled up next to him.

I think you need a good hug, said Squirrel.

Thomas half laughed and half cried. “Thanks, buddy.” He placed a hand on Squirrel’s back as Squirrel tried to wrap his tiny metal arms around Thomas’s waist. They embraced each other for a long time.

“Hey,” said Thomas. Squirrel looked up at Thomas and hugged his metal tail. “I’m really glad you’ve been with me during the quarantine. Honestly, I couldn’t have been luckier.”

Squirrel hugged Thomas a good long time. And Thomas pet Squirrel on the head.

“We are all pretty lucky you know,” said Thomas.

We are? said Squirrel.

“In other countries, they can’t protest. We’ve got a right to speech and to peacefully protest the government.”

Do squirrels protest? asked Squirrel.

Thomas laughed. “You’re such a curious one,” he said. “I don’t imagine so. Many animals don’t behave like we do. It’s something only humans do. I guess in a way protesting is the most human thing we can do.”

Have you protested? asked Squirrel.

“Yeah, actually. I’ve joined a few marches,” said Thomas. “It’s fun to chant. A lot of marches happen downtown so you’d have to be really lazy not to join if you got the time.” Thomas took a drag off his spliff. “I wouldn’t be marching now though. It’s like people forgot there was still a virus out there. It’s good they’re wearing masks though.”

I’ve never protested, Squirrel quietly said to himself.

“What was that?” asked Thomas.

Oh nothing, said Squirrel. He didn’t want Thomas to worry. After Squirrel’s brush with death, Thomas was cautious not to let Squirrel wander too far from the apartment. It was a dangerous world out there but curiosity poked at him day and night. He was an explorer!

And I’ve never protested, dammit! thought Squirrel to himself. A man was murdered in broad daylight. It could just as easily have been me…

Thomas watched Squirrel deep in thought. “Whatcha thinkin’ about?”

Squirrel let out a deep sigh and looked up at Thomas. I hope they will be heard, said Squirrel.

“I hope so too,” said Thomas. “I think I’m gonna call it a night, buddy. This day has got me tired.”

Goodnight, said Squirrel. He looked up at the moon and listened to the chant of the protesters:

I can’t breathe! I can’t breathe! I can’t breathe!

When Thomas began snoring Squirrel gathered some things, put them in his backpack, and snuck out the apartment window.

--

--