5 Writing Lessons I Learned From Getting 5,000 Followers on Medium

Lesson number one: followers don’t matter as much as you think.

Alvin Ang
The Affirmations Of Alvin Ang

--

Alvin Ang Instagram

The photo above was taken right after I had finished competing in a particularly brutal Jiu-Jitsu match.

My arms were sore. My face was sweaty. I had just gotten done fighting (okay, grappling) for my life in the 30-degree Singaporean heat. But my heart was oh so very full.

This is much the same way I now feel, waking up to realize that I now have five thousand followers on Medium.

When I first started writing here in 2019, getting five thousand followers was one of my goals. Don’t ask me why. The number is largely arbitrary.

Five thousand just seemed like a nice round number, is all.

And two years later, now that I have attained my long-sought-after goal, I have come to the realization that it is neither arbitrary numbers nor external rewards that are the most satisfying thing about writing. No, the most satisfying thing about writing is the person you become through the act of writing itself.

Followers come and go. Platforms rise and fall. But the lessons that writing teaches you will forever remain.

--

--