The Saviour in LA | blips in memory

Vincent W. C.
The Afterglow Publication
2 min readOct 4, 2023

I think he had more important things to deal with anyways.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Yelling at the sky, as if the world can hear. What nonsense. They say how love was always fragile; stupid, stupid thing. Every night I think of the doorbell ringing, ringing. ‘Maybe’ is the single word which I tie my heart onto. Maybe he left me for a reason. Maybe it will turn out alright. In this unknown city in an unknown apartment under a set of unknown stars. God, what did I get myself into. The past years passed so quickly. The proposal, the thin golden ring. Took another swig, a dull thud of the bottle hitting the ground a few meters away, spewing: the wine making little floral patterns on the floorboards. I’ll have to clean that up later. I don’t care. My fingers are empty now, the same way those gnarled elm-branches loom in the darkness, reaching for the unrelenting sky. Hazy. That describes things nicely. I think the ring slipped during that episode in the bathroom. You know, that time when I thought how maybe if I cried enough, some saviour will come. The saviour didn’t come. I think he had more important things to deal with anyways. I would like to think that he has more important things to deal with. Maybe he did have more important things to deal with. Maybe. If this was the same me a few months ago maybe I could’ve gotten a job of some sort. Like scrubbing dishes or making coffee for those workers or something. Those almost-people, as if some god or other had picked them up and kneaded them between his massive palms. Scruffy, disgruntled little things. I know I don’t look better. I know they probably make more than me. I don’t care. I didn’t do anything wrong. Now I’m not sure what I can do. I’m don’t want to do anything. What do I have? A few hundred and an eviction notice. That’s what. But he’ll come back. I know it. A ring on the doorbell. I rise. I don’t care that I’m half naked. I don’t care about the mirror. He won’t care either. I open the door. I see the landowner and I puke.

--

--

Vincent W. C.
The Afterglow Publication

high school student | lover of literary things | imagining sisyphus happy ._.