Merzmensch

Beth Jochim
The AI Art Corner
Published in
Oct 12, 2020

AI Artists Directory

Credit: Merzmensch

Born in Russia, living in Germany, thinking globally. I combine in my transmedia works human and machine input. Co-creation, co-existence, and creative symbiosis of these two life-forms (homo sapiens + AI) are the main factors inspiring me to new experiments and art approaches.

Website: http://merzmensch.com
Twitter:@merzmensch
Instagram: @merzmensch_kosmopol

Art+AI Expertise

I’m experimenting with AI since first open models: Google Deep Dream, BigGAN, CycleGAN, StyleGAN2, GPT-2, GPT-3. In my artworks I apply an approach of Historian Avant-Garde (Dada etc.): to question current culture concepts and to discover new ways of storytelling & expression.

Work with AI

My digital works are presented in my Merzazine (Merzmensch.com). My theoretical works are published in various print and digital journals (Perspektive, Toward Data Science etc.). Follow my works on twitter with the Hashtag #MerzmenschPresents) 2016: “Clair de Tour”, Video installation // Museum for History, Frankfurt 2020: “Roman Bot”, my “Dialogues” with AI // Frankfurt Museum for Communication (Exhibition #Neuland) Ongoing: AI-driven theater projects and publications

Vision

AI enriches the culture and humanity with new possibilities and perspectives. AI is still not equal to an artist, but it is more than just a tool, like an assistant, co-author, inspiration, Muse. It augments our biased interpretation of reality with a surprising fresh view.

Note: The AI Artists Directory has been previously featured on Cueva Gallery’s website.

Except where otherwise noted this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Image by Merzmensch.

--

--

Beth Jochim
The AI Art Corner

I am a Content Curator, Writer and Consultant with a focus on AI, Creative AI and Digital Art.