#MeetAGradThursday — Ben Moore

Alacrity UK
The Alacrity Foundation
3 min readDec 1, 2016

I joined the Alacrity Foundation as a business lead this August after graduating with a Masters degree from Cardiff University with a first class honours in Mechanical Engineering. Becoming a part of the Foundation was something I’ve been set on achieving for a few years now… I’ve always wanted to start my own business and the Foundation is just the perfect opportunity for me to do so.

Whilst studying I took any opportunity I could to develop my entrepreneurship skills. I designed and put forward applications for funding a new portable wind turbine for creating off-grid power for the developing world, receiving two awards and grants to manufacture a proof of concept. I became treasurer and then president for the Snowsports Society at university, taking 550 people to France on a ski trip and becoming club of the year. I took part in any entrepreneurship and development courses available at uni to prepare for my time at Alacrity. Courses on entrepreneurship are helpful, but nothing compares to the real-world exposure you receive at Alacrity. Starting a company is no easy venture. The mentoring, support and commercial partners build the perfect environment and culture to make it happen.

Since joining the Foundation, it’s been like being thrown into the deep end from day one. The first 6 weeks involve learning to code in an intensive bootcamp. We learned several programming languages including HTML, JavaScript, PHP and Laravel as a framework, being tasked with designing and building a website as a personal project to present to the mentors. After being formed into our teams, we had a similar bootcamp experience coming up with a business idea as a team, developing the idea and pitching the idea to Simon Gibson and Sir Terry Mathews. This was a truly unique experience. Never have I learned so much in such a short time.

In my spare time I like surfing and any sports I can find time for to be honest. I try to go skiing when I can either at the local dry slope in Cardiff or travelling to the nearest In-door snowslope. We play weekly 5a-side football here at Alacrity which I am pretty keen on and a weekly pub session never goes amiss.

If anyone reading this has any questions about joining the foundation don’t hesitate to get in touch.. I’m happy to chat anytime. Just drop me a message on LinkedIn.

https://uk.linkedin.com/in/benjamesmoore

--

--

Alacrity UK
The Alacrity Foundation

We're looking for recent technical and science graduates who want to create their own tech startups. Interested? #entrepreneurship & #mentoring