#MeetAGradThursday — Vanessa Yau

Alacrity UK
The Alacrity Foundation
2 min readMar 2, 2017
(Left) Left to Right; Giorgio Bufalino, Vanessa Yau, Ben Moore and Boris Ivanov of Team 15. Centre; Vanessa Yau of Team 15. Right; Giorgio Bufalino, Vanessa Yau, Ben Moore and Boris Ivanov of Team 15.

The first time I coded was in my first year of my degree studying Computing and Maths at Cardiff University. Four years and several programming languages later, I had solidified my decision that I really enjoy coding but a career in mathematics just wasn’t for me.

I first worked for the Alacrity Foundation for my Year in Industry on the pilot for Cardiff University’s National Software Academy (NSA). As part of my year, I had my first taster of working on web technologies for commercial clients including Laing O’Rourke and the Office of National Statistics. I gained invaluable practical programming experience and project management skills which set the standard for my decision for after university.

The Alacrity graduate scheme was the only opportunity I found which offered me the same amount of flexibility, culture and dynamics as my experience with the NSA. The potential to start-up my own business with possible seed funding was just the bonus. Hence, it was an easy decision to apply to Alacrity after university.

The best things about the graduate scheme is knowing you’re working to create an innovative business. A tangible business that you have ownership of, which is fun, supported by people with the same mindset as you. The code is only half of the challenge — the more interesting part is learning about the market(s) and defining your USP.

Outside of work I’m a keen baker and spend a serious amount of time watching anime. When neither anime or baking hold my interest, I’m out on my bike, reading fiction or hunting down the next recipe to add to my collection.

Vanessa Yau,

Technical Lead for Team 15

--

--

Alacrity UK
The Alacrity Foundation

We're looking for recent technical and science graduates who want to create their own tech startups. Interested? #entrepreneurship & #mentoring