Best Bits: Invincible

Reflecting on “The Best Comic in the Universe!”

Benny Regalbuto
The Amazing Comic Book Reviews

--

Invincible Image Comics Robert Kirkman Cory Walker Ryan Ottley Mark Nolan Debbie Grayson Omni-Man Viltrumite

By Robert Kirkman, Cory Walker, and Ryan Ottley. Published by Image Comics. All images fair use.

My Invincible journey began when my mom told me to stop being a pansy.

… Backtrack time.

Dear Reader, I must admit a hard truth: I’m a scaredy-cat’s scaredy-cat. “It’s fun to be scared!” people have told me. I… will never understand the sentiment. I don’t jump at my own shadow or anything, but it took a girl I was head over heels for in high school to get me to watch a horror film without curling up into a corner and bawling. (It was The Grudge. Afterward, I couldn’t pass by the attic for weeks without having an on-the-spot aneurism.)

As someone raised on spine-chilling classics, my mom had a rough time coming to grips with her son’s lack of a backbone. She didn’t understand why I was so averse to scary movies, or why I hated being dragged onto the dancefloor, or why — y’know what? Let’s wrap back around before I write a deep-dive Mom and Me piece.

Long story short, for every “Ma, I don’t wanna watch this!” she’d turn the other cheek with a “Oh, you’re being ridiculous!” (I’m originally from the Bronx, but because I moved out when I was 10, I don’t have the fully formed accent to prove it. When I call her…

--

--

Benny Regalbuto
The Amazing Comic Book Reviews

The Amazing Comic Book Reviews + Benny’s Book-Writing Blog + more!