Kevin Conroy and the Power of Voice Acting

A personal reflection on the most prominent Batman voice actor the impact voice acting can have.

Benny Regalbuto
The Amazing Comic Book Reviews

--

A Batman logo on a car.
Photo by Obi - @pixel6propix on Unsplash

All images fair use.

My sister ran up, panting. “Kevin Conroy is dead!”

I nodded, solemn. I’d caught wind of the news before her.

Kevin Conroy is dead!” she repeated sharply, emotion threatening to crack her in two.

I nodded again, inhaling deeply.

“I…” She shook her head. “How did it happen? Do you know?”

“Cancer.” It had taken our cousin, too. I wondered how Conroy’s own cousins felt.

Later in the evening, I gestured for my sister to come sit down. I had a video pulled up for her — for us. It was a clip from the Justice League Unlimited episode “Epilogue,” in which Batman (voiced by Conroy) is tasked by Amanda Waller (voiced by CCH Pounder) to euthanize Ace (voiced by Hynden Walch), a young girl with reality-altering powers. My sister and I had watched the show together as kids, so we knew what was coming.

We cried anyway.

As someone who’s watched a cornucopia of animated shows and played through countless video games, I’ve experienced the ups, downs, and in-betweens of voice acting…

--

--

Benny Regalbuto
The Amazing Comic Book Reviews

The Amazing Comic Book Reviews + Benny’s Book-Writing Blog + more!