Sex Spell for Raven: Excerpt from The Way Cities Feel to Us Now

Nathaniel Kennon Perkins
American West
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2019
The Way Cities Feel to Us Now (Maudlin House, 2019) by Nathaniel Kennon Perkins

I told Raven how excited I was that Ruby was moving to New Mexico. I thought it was fate maybe. At one time in the past, I felt like I was in love with Ruby, and I told Raven about how I might see Ruby again because she was going to move to Taos. I have a picture somewhere on my hard drive of Ruby standing in a river, bending over to look at a rock. She is wearing a light summer dress.

I even wrote a story about Ruby once. It was mostly about how my two friends were being competitive with each other in their separate attempts to fuck her one time on the Fourth of July a few years ago.

Neither of them managed such a thing.

Although in real life David did pull me aside and ask for a condom. I gave him one even though I knew he wasn’t going to get the chance to use it. I left that part out of the story.

I’ve told Raven about Dave too. Not the big things about him, but the things that are easy to talk about, like skateboarding, and taking mescaline together, and the time a couple weeks ago when he got drunk and tried to shoot me with a bb gun because I was wearing Carhartts, and he thought they would protect me from the sting, but he missed and hit Atalanta in the ass cheek in her little shorts.

Atalanta took it pretty well. She just rolled her eyes all the way out of her head.

It’s never really happened the other way around. I haven’t talked about Raven to Ruby or Dave or Atalanta. It’s not because I have better things to talk about with these people. It’s not even because Raven and I have never been in a river together, or because Raven has never tried to shoot me just because I was wearing Carhartts.

I don’t talk to these people about Raven because I don’t want to jinx it. Even writing this right here might jinx it.

That’s what I’m worried about.

This spell isn’t the kind of spell where you write out what you want to have happen.

This is the kind of spell where you just set your intention and know that it probably won’t happen. But if it does, and it could maybe, then the spell worked.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Order the book here.

--

--

Nathaniel Kennon Perkins
American West

Writer and Publisher. Author of CACTUS, THE WAY CITIES FEEL TO US NOW, and WALLOP. www.nathanielkennonperkins.com