Source: Ales Nesetril's Instagram

Ten Years In, Still Humble

A lesson of attitude and a story of my career beginnings

Published in
4 min readJan 3, 2018

--

First time testing Bumpers.fm to record audio. Not a native speaker :P

Let me join the hype of “looking back” and “year in review,” which many of you do these days, to sum up, the year 2017.

Let me take a look back as well.

But I mean really back. Like ten years. To my design career beginnings.

I’d like to talk a bit about one of my very first jobs.

It was referred to me by our neighbor, who heard that I’m the guy working with computers, websites and stuff.

It was winter of 2007 (if I remember correctly) when my mom drove me for one of my very first “client” meetings. We found out our neighbor’s friend runs a basketball team and needs to update their website (both design and code). After some negotiations — mostly about my age and capabilities — we ended up shaking hands, and I’ve become their new part-time “webmaster” for ~$24/month (around 500 Czech Crowns).

This was all prior high-school, I was around 14 years old or so.

I’ve done this for more than a year while trying to get some other projects on a side. Like design a small site for an internet provider in my hometown, help my friend’s gaming site (CS 1.6, CoD) or design a website for a local ice-cream stand (yes, really).

Later on, moving to high-school, I’ve switched to my first full-time job in a design agency (2008–2009) to take my career to another level.

But that’s a topic on its own. Maybe for next time.

Why am I talking about this?

Every once in a while I meet (both online and offline) with someone with 1 or 2 years into their design career. Instead of hearing how excited they are about doing something interesting and mastering their skills, they usually start with complaining first.

Complaining they don’t have 5k followers on Dribbble yet, don’t work on a new redesign for Nike, make $10,000/month while having own 5-star podcast, YouTube channel and an invitation for design talk in their inbox.

Again, all of this after 1–2 years in business.

It usually makes me wonder how everyone has everything planned while naming all of those things. Planned dreams and goals they want to achieve, but rarely do the work or practice required to reach them.

When I started I didn't have plans like that.

I didn't have a plan for social media to gain followers.

I didn't have a plan to get new clients, except referrals.

I didn't have a plan to build my personal brand.

Damn, I didn't even have my own website at a time.

All I had was having a great time while creating something I like. Whether it was a website design, diving into HTML/CSS to learn a bit of coding for the first time or something else I was curious about related to IT.

I just enjoyed what I was doing.

A couple of years later I do have more than 5k followers on Dribbble, I do work for brands similar to Nike, make more money than I ever imagined, experiment with audio or Youtube while getting ready for my next public talk (in a foreign country btw.). But how did my attitude change?

I didn't.

I still enjoying what I do, which is my top priority. Even tho' I make more money, have more attention or often get other people's opinions in my face.

Keeping this in mind can take me far more, far more than any of my plans would outline, and I’m curious and excited every day to find out what's next.

If you don’t like the actual work, don’t want to put in the effort in long-term to make progress, you’ll always struggle. You’ll always just plan and complain.

And maybe there is going to be another cool job title besides “being a designer” in 2018. And you’re going to give up and chase that.

But for everyone else who is here to stay:

Stop planning and get moving.

--

--

A product designer from Prague, Czech Republic, who focuses on interactive experiences & mobile apps, currently co-leading a design team at STRV.