Onome Uyovbievbo: Capturing Cinematic Beauty in Everyday Realism

Roxanna Angles
The Analogue Diaries
5 min readMay 22, 2021

It is a true talent when a photographer can encapsulate a story in one singular frame. Onome does just that with cinematic style and realism. Not only does Onome create amazing photographic images, but also has co-founded The Film Sorority IG account and founded The Happy Face Film Lab. Read on for a truly mesmerizing visual treat!

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

Onome, where are you from?

I hail from the great Inland Empire in Southern California but currently reside in San Francisco.

How did you get into film photography?

I really got into film photography after seeing a concert photographer utilize a point and shoot while on tour with an artist I really liked and figured if I can’t bring a digital camera into a show, why not try with a film camera and get photos in the way that I dreamed of as well. Little did I know that getting the type of photos I pictured in my head was harder than I thought!

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

What was your first camera? Do you still have it?

The first film camera I bought myself was a Pentax K1000 and I do still have it! I use it here and there ever so often although the shutter and lens had messed up after taking a ding on the floor during SF Pride in 2019 unfortunately.

What is your dream camera?

I would love to get my hands on a Mamiya RZ67 Pro II with a Prism viewfinder; I currently have an RB67 Pro S but having an upgraded model with an electronic back would really take my photos to another level of professionalism I think.

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

In a digital world, why do you shoot film?

For me, I believe there is a time to use digital over film and film over digital. For example, if I’m shooting a show and have only 15 minutes in the pit to capture an artist, I’m going to go with digital purely because of the unlimited storage and shutter speed of the camera which is an advantage over film.

Whereas with film, it allows me to capture moments, slow down time, and compose a story that I can tell in that moment for that moment in time. Kind of like a film director, I frame a photo to include elements that I want. Since I don’t have a studio or models to work with, I document my environment to make the ordinary, extraordinary to the best of my ability.

But at the same time, if I have the chance to sit down with someone and really get to take my time to observe them, wind down, and capture their most natural and authentic movements when someone is being true to themselves, it allows for the film to speak for itself and tell a story within that one image. Those are the images that give me most satisfaction.

Shooting with film, especially medium format film, takes me to a place of peace where I can focus on only what is in front of me and like solving a puzzle, how to make this photo the most aesthetically pleasing or perfect to my eye.

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

You have joined forces with Danielle Wrobleski and Chris Bartolucci to create a new account highlighting women in film. Tell me about what brought you all together and a bit about The Film Sorority:

Yes! The Film Sorority is a young but sprouting community made to lift up the work of female film shooters in the film community and to inspire others to dabble in film as well.

It has been such a fun adventure so far, seeing all this wonderful art from such talented women. Danielle was actually the person who had reached out to me and asked me if I would be one of the co-curators and I couldn’t say no. I’m so happy I was even considered to be part of it!

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

Do you have any stories related to when you were shooting film?

Just recently, I had went out to shoot around my neighborhood and someone was blasting the live version of Master of Puppets by Metallica through their bedroom window and I look down to my left and there is a beautiful sliver 1965 Triumph Spitfire Mark II looking at me straight in the face. So naturally I took advantage and started taking photos of this car while Metallica is still going on in the background. I swear it felt like a scene straight out of a movie scene. I think the universe was smiling upon me because I love heavy metal and felt just in my element living and being happy. A top 10 2020 moment for me.

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

If you could give advice to a new film photographer, what would you say? Or what is the best advice you have been given?

GET A LIGHT METER; if you feel like your work was not good at all, come back to it again at a later date and you’ll probably find some jewels in the roll. Because at first glance, you may think that everything is terrible because it is not at your level of perfection but take a breather and go back to it. If you think it’s still a no-go, go out and shoot another roll to improve on what you last captured.

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

What else do you want us to know about you?

I love all sorts of music from classical music to heavy metal to K-pop to trance and I’m usually listening to something when I’m out on a day of shooting.

Where can people find you online?

My website is www.byonome.com, my Instagram and Twitter is @by.onome

Photo: Onome Uyovbievbo

--

--

Roxanna Angles
The Analogue Diaries

Analog film photographer. Co-Host of Negative Positives Podcast. Writer. Artist. Experimenter of all creative things. Happy mistake maker. Come with me :)