It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

The Analyst
The Movie Analyst
Published in
2 min readNov 10, 2015

Director: Anna Boden & Ryan Fleck

Year: 2010

Language: English

Verdict: Good

‘It’s kind a funny story’, the name told me it will be good to lift up my mood, which was down since I left my job and decided to do something better with my time. Nowadays it is hard to find a good movie, all of them have either been watched or been rejected long back. And each year the average number of good movies to be released is 3.69 (I just made up that statistics, it can be far less). However, something told me this movie will be a good use of my time and it was.

A teenage boy Craig admitted himself to a psychiatric ward after a long period of depression and repeated urge of committing suicide. Due to the ongoing renovation of the juvenile ward, he ends up with the adult patients. There he meets Bobby (the infamous Zach Galifianakis) along with some other older patients. Also he meets another teenager Noel.

Disclaimer: Please don’t expect another ‘Who flew over the cuckoo’s nest’, just because this is a movie about a psychiatric ward.

Craig takes life too seriously, he thinks too far ahead in life, thus complicate things. His parents are no help either, they (mainly his father) have great demands from him in terms of success in his future career. Craig has a lot of good quality too, he listens to people, gives valuable inputs and in return asks nothing. He underestimates himself and overestimate everything else.

Spoilers Alert Below!

You know what, a psych ward is a place, where one can be himself. No one watching, no one judging, anyway you were cuckoo in the first place. And may be that’s why Craig gets to find out who he really was and what he really wanted. I just hope he gets to execute them well.

A good movie to watch.

Follow me on https://www.facebook.com/The.BnM.Analyst

--

--