Movie Review: Chef

The Analyst
The Movie Analyst
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2015

Director: Jon Favreau
Year: 2014
Language: English
Verdict: I Enjoyed It

Movie Poster: Chef

I needed this movie. I was sick and on a house arrest for almost two weeks when I watched Chef and it made my day. Just a few days back, I was whining to my hubby that nowadays nobody makes feel good movies any more. The days of Tom Hanks, Meg Ryan, Helen Hunt, Sandra Bullock are over, now it is an era of serious comedy and who knows what else!

To me this movie felt fresh and light. It is about food (the food was on the heavier side calorie-wise though) and a long road trip. No serious emotion, no real bad guy, happy people, happy relations, happy story and happy me.

This is a story of a chef, who once had a potential to become the next big thing in the food industry, suddenly found himself stuck in a job where nothing is in his control and his creativity is sinking down everyday by the pressure of a people choice five year old fixed menu. Everything was bottling up for a long time; dissatisfactions in his personal life, professional life. One fine evening the domino effect starts taking place when a prominent food critic points out that what he could have been and the cliché he has become.

All this turns into a father-son road trip and story of friendship.

A nice feel good movie to lift the mood.

Follow me on https://www.facebook.com/The.BnM.Analyst

--

--