Movie Review: Detective Byomkesh Bakshy

The Analyst
The Movie Analyst
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2015

Director: Dibakar Banerjee
Year: 2015
Language: Hindi
Verdict: I had this numb feeling in my head, I really don’t know how to describe it.

I should have known… all the signs were there.

First sign, they called him “detective”. Satyaneshi Byomkesh hated that term. Next was the trailer! Did you see that one? Seemed like some kind of third grade spy movie. However this movie could have been a great entertainment (if you think ‘it is so bad that it actually good’ kinda way), if and only if director Dibakar Banerjee did not use the name Byomekesh.

From the first paragraph, you may have guessed my feelings about DBB, still if you want to know more, please continue. Caution, there can be some spoilers!
DBB was inspired by two of my top Byomkesh stories “Satyaneshi”, the first case of Byomkesh where he meets Ajit. And the second one is “Arthamanartham” where he meets Satyabati, whom later he marries. Other than these facts and the name of few characters nothing matches with the original stories.

That could have been forgiven if Mr. Director enriched the story and made something better of it. As the saying goes, “if you can not improve the silence then keep your mouth shut”. However, what he created in this movie is a character, who acts stupid (I waited till the end and you know what, he is actually stupid, that was not acting at all) and discuss all the nook and corner of his investigation (or mere luck!) with any stranger he meets on the road. I don’t want to say anything about Ajit at all.

What inspired me to watch the movie instead of my better judgement was this small “making of DBB” video, but you know what, it amazed me that I could recognize Kolkata as I know it now. 60 plus years, and nothing changed in Kolkata!

What can I say more, the plot did not make sense, the characters did not make any sense… it was all numbness in my head. Two and half hours were taken away from my life and all I was left with this emptiness.

Watch it at your own risk.

Follow me on https://www.facebook.com/The.BnM.Analyst

--

--