Movie Review: Tanu weds Manu (1 & 2)

The Analyst
The Movie Analyst
Published in
3 min readJul 31, 2015

Director: Anan L. Rai
Year: 2011 & 2015
Language: Hindi
Verdict: Did not live up to the expectation.

“Tanu weds Manu Returns” Movie Poster

What a waste of my time four and half hours; and I could have saved the second two and half hours. But as they say even it is painful you have to go all the way. Wait! Do they say that? Or I just made that up on my defence?

I actually never heard about “Tanu weds Manu” in the first place, and came to know about it when my Facebook page started to flood with the praises about The return and phrases like “double Kangana double the fun”. I really had a great time watching “Queen” so I watched “Tanu weds Manu”.

What was my reaction after two hours? OK! Not that good, definitely not at par “Queen”, even boring at times.

A crazy girl Tanu pretending to marry a gangster, so that she can finally make the other guy Manu, who is further more crazy, to marry her. And surprisingly everybody else around them acting insanely sane about it!

Tanu also suffers a lot from Scarlett O’Hara syndrome.

Let me tell you little bit about Scarlett O’Hara now, if you don’t know her already. You see Scarlett was a very pretty girl with a lot of will power and spirit, and a considerable amount of intellect, however she was born in the wrong time (or was it a perfect time for her?) in 1850's America, where women still did not get to vote or do a job. So this very spirited girl only gets all her energy to waste on a infatuation or as she called it “her love of the life”. She could have wasted away her and many others lives in the process, however the war stopped her and made her invest herself in many a projects.

So the people suffering from Scarllet O’Hara syndrome (which one I just made up) should be treated with some worthwhile projects, which again Tanu lacked here in the movie. On top of that there is no reasonable character in this movie to reason with her or at least try.

In the first movie all those were still acceptable, the fight, the games, the melodrama to get the boy, the get the girl. But it was too much in the sequel and it was two and half hour long.

What finally came out was that the first movie was somewhat funny and the second movie was just asqueal. What was a rebellion of a young girl in the first movie became cliche in the second. Tanu needed to reinvent herself, her life was not about being married to a NRI doctor but doing something awesome. She could have abandoned the stereotype of “marriage” and “remarriage” and find something inspiring. Even the “sporty” Kusum ended up being all about marriage.

Both the movies failed big times in my eyes. They stayed as mediocre commercial Hindi movies, which only showcases how grand a wedding can be. Don’t get me wrong, I know both the movie says “wed” but they also have “Tanu” and “Manu” in them too.

Follow me on https://www.facebook.com/The.BnM.Analyst

--

--