John and Edmond, lessons from a decade in software engineering

Edward Tian
The Andela Way
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2019
Podcast Interview with John and Edmond

“This month is the month of Edmond,” Jackie Ochola, the big big boss, the Uganda country director, announced at my first Andela town hall as a freshly minted muzungu intern in Kampala.

Edmond is a future Obama scholar, one of only thirty individuals from across the world selected for a Masters degree at Columbia University. A certain African pride permeated the room. I turned around, attracted to Edmond’s beaming and charismatic smile. Weeks later, after many many rolexes, and an overnight bus ride to Nairobi, I mustered the courage to ask Edmond to share his story in a podcast style interview.

John Kagga (left) and Edmond Otto (right) at a sundown office party in Kampala

But Edmond’s story is incomplete without John Kagga. John is a senior software engineer from one of the first cohorts of Andela Uganda. He’s generous, kind-spirited, and mentors many younger developers. Most don’t know this, but John and Edmond go far back from meeting in high school to becoming startup co-founders.

“We had this synergy that just worked, and has until today” — Edmond Atto

In the following interview, we hear incredible moments from a decade long friendship, and the most valuable lessons learned from their remarkable careers in software engineering. I hope you leave feeling inspired as I have.

My podcast interview with John and Edmond! Photo from The Andela Way Launch

Thanks for reading! Two years after my amazing summer with Andela, I’m now a journalist with the BBC Africa desk. If you’re interested in reading more of my work, I also write a weekly newsletter Brackets on technology, data science, and journalism.

--

--

Edward Tian
The Andela Way

CS and Journalism @Princeton. Open source investigations at BBC Africa Eye. Bylines @bellingcat @techcrunch @newswatch